Skip to main content
This article applies to CrashPlan for Small Business.
Looking for information about Incydr or CrashPlan for Enterprise? Search or browse.

Incydr Professional and Enterprise, no.

Incydr Basic and Advanced, no.

CrashPlan Cloud, no.

Other product plans, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

HOME
GETTING STARTED
RELEASE NOTES
FAQs
APIs
SYSTEM STATUS
Code42 Support

Red circle on restored Mac files using Crashplan for Small Business (restricted permissions)

This article applies to CrashPlan for Small Business.
Looking for information about Incydr or CrashPlan for Enterprise? Search or browse.

Incydr Professional and Enterprise, no.

Incydr Basic and Advanced, no.

CrashPlan Cloud, no.

Other product plans, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

Overview

If restored folders or files display a red circle and cannot be opened, it means that you don't have the permissions needed to access the files. This typically occurs when files that were created on one computer are restored to a Mac computer using the restore setting for "original permissions." This troubleshooting guide can help you correct the issue.

Affects

macOS

Diagnosing

Folders with restricted permissions display a red circle in the Finder. When attempting to open the folder, you receive the message:

The folder [folder name] can’t be opened because you don’t have permission to see its contents.

Permissions restricted

Recommended solution

Restoring your files through the Code42 app with original permissions instead of current permissions may result in restored files that you don't have permission to access. If the permission issues only impact a small number of files, the easiest way to correct this is to simply restore your files again with current permissions.

If the permission issues affect a large number of files or you don't want to restore the files again, see the alternative solution below to manually adjust the permissions of each folder.

To restore the files again with current permissions:

  1. Sign in to the Code42 app and click Restore Files.
  2. Select the files you want to restore and click Restore.
    The restore file options menu appears.
    Restore_file_options_6.8.3_unnanotated.png

     
  3. Click the dropdown menu next to Permissions and select Current.
  4. Update the other restore files options, if necessary
  5. Click Go.

Alternative solution

If you don't want to restore the files again, you can update the permissions for each folder impacted by following the steps below.

  1. Select the folder you want to update
  2. Click Command+I or go to File > Get Info

Permissions

  1. Click the triangle next to Sharing & Permissions to expand the section
  2. Click the lock icon to allow editing of your settings
  3. When prompted, enter your password to allow changes to the Finder
  4. Next to everyone, click No Access to display privilege options
  5. Select Read & Write

Read & Write Access

  1. Click the gear icon, then select Apply to enclosed items to apply the setting to subfolders

Apply to enclosed items
When prompted to confirm the change, click OK

  1. Click the lock icon again to prevent future changes