We hope you stay with CrashPlan for Small Business for a long time, but if for some reason you would like to cancel, this tutorial explains how to do so.
When you cancel your subscription, your data remains protected in our Code42 cloud until your subscription period ends. You can also deactivate your account to end your subscription immediately if necessary.
No refunds are available for CrashPlan for Small Business. Your monthly CrashPlan for Small Business subscription grants you access to our backup service until the end of your subscription term.
Code42 retains your data until your subscription ends, even if you decide not to continue backing up new or changed data. Data backed up to the Code42 cloud is retained for a short grace period prior to removal. To learn more about what happens to your data after a subscription or trial ends, see our data retention policy.
Cancel your subscription
- Sign in to the CrashPlan for Small Business Code42 console.
- Go to Account.
- Select Manage My Subscription.
- Select Details for your current subscription.
- For Automatic Renewals, select Off.
- In the Stop Automatic Billing window, select Yes.
Refresh the page to ensure you see the updated setting. You will receive an email confirming the change.
When you cancel your subscription, your data is retained in the Code42 cloud until the end of your subscription and you will still receive email reports. To remove your data immediately from the Code42 cloud and stop email reports from being sent, you must also deactivate your account.
Deactivate your CrashPlan for Small Business account (optional)
Deactivating your account stops email reports from being sent and removes your data immediately from the Code42 cloud.
Deactivating your CrashPlan for Small Business account completely removes all backup data and computer information from the Code42 cloud. Data removed in this way cannot be recovered.
To permanently deactivate your CrashPlan for Small Business account:
- Cancel your subscription following the steps above.
- Contact our Customer Champions or create a support ticket confirming:
- Your written request to deactivate your CrashPlan for Small Business account.
- The email address associated with your account.
This information must be sent from the email address of your account because deactivating will irreversibly destroy your backup archives. We must ensure that you definitely want to take this action before proceeding.
Uninstall the Code42 app
To remove the Code42 app from your devices after deactivating your account, follow the Complete uninstall process at Uninstall CrashPlan for Small Business
Cancel versus deactivate details
The following table explains the difference between cancel and deactivate in more detail:
|Stop ongoing backups||Yes||
|Data remains protected in the Code42 cloud until the end of your subscription period per our data retention policy||Yes||No, removes all your backup data and computer information from the Code42 cloud|
|Local backups remain available||No, not unless you re-subscribe||No, backup data cannot be recovered|
|Can use this CrashPlan for Small Business account again||Yes, purchase a new subscription within the time limits listed in our data retention policy||No, you would need to create a new account|
|Can restore from your Code42 cloud backup archive by purchasing a new subscription within the time limits detailed in our data retention policy||Yes||No|
|Ends subscription immediately||No, it ends when your subscription period ends||Yes|
|Stops all reports||No||Yes|