Skip to main content
This article applies to CrashPlan for Small Business.
Looking for information about Incydr or CrashPlan for Enterprise? Search or browse.

Incydr, no.

CrashPlan for Enterprise, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

HOME
GETTING STARTED
RELEASE NOTES
FAQs
APIs
SYSTEM STATUS
Code42 Support

Deactivate and reactivate users and devices in CrashPlan for Small Business

This article applies to CrashPlan for Small Business.
Looking for information about Incydr or CrashPlan for Enterprise? Search or browse.

Incydr, no.

CrashPlan for Enterprise, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

Overview

To provide and revoke access to users' data in your CrashPlan for Small Business environment, you may need to deactivate and reactivate users and devices. This article explains how to:

Before you begin

We recommend reviewing the structures for archive storage and user management.

Deactivate and reactivate users

Deactivate a user

  1. Sign in to the Code42 console.
  2. Select Users > Active.
  3. Select a user to view User Details.

    Update the user's email address
    An email address can be used with only one Code42 user account at a time. If you want to use this email address again (as the email address for a new user in another organization, for example), change the email address for the user you are deactivating before adding it to a new user in another organization.

    For example, Hannah Snyder (email address hsnyder@example.com) uses CrashPlan for Small Business personally for her single-proprietor consulting business. She's just partnered with a larger consulting firm that also uses CrashPlan for Small Business and wants to be added to their organization using the same email address. Before adding her as a new user to the larger organization, edit the user details in her existing account to change her email address (for example, to hsnyder_deactivated@example.com) and then deactivate that existing account. Next, add her to the new organization using her preferred email address (hsnyder@example.com).

  4. From the User Details, open the action menu.
  5. Click Deactivate.
  6. When prompted, click OK to confirm the user account deactivation.
    The user and all devices associated with this user account are deactivated immediately.

Activate a deactivated user

  1. Sign in to the Code42 console.
  2. Select Users > Deactivated.
  3. Click the username you'd like to reactivate to display User Details.
  4. From the action menu, select Activate.
     

Deactivate and reactivate devices

Deactivate device

  1. Sign in to the Code42 console.
  2. Go to Devices > Active.
  3. Click the device name to display Device Details.
  4. From the action menu, click Deactivate. The device is immediately deactivated and the associated backup archive is removed.
  5. When prompted, click OK to confirm the device deactivation.

Activate a deactivated device

Before you can activate a deactivated device, the device's user must be active.
  1. Sign in to the Code42 console.
  2. Go to Devices > Deactivated.
  3. Click the device name to display Device Details.
  4. From the action menu, click Activate.
     When the user logs in to the device, backups resume automatically.