Skip to main content
This article applies to CrashPlan for Small Business.
Looking for information about Incydr or CrashPlan for Enterprise? Search or browse.

Incydr, no.

CrashPlan for Enterprise, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

HOME
GETTING STARTED
RELEASE NOTES
FAQs
APIs
SYSTEM STATUS
Code42 Support

Change the file selection (CrashPlan for Small Business)

This article applies to CrashPlan for Small Business.
Looking for information about Incydr or CrashPlan for Enterprise? Search or browse.

Incydr, no.

CrashPlan for Enterprise, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

Overview

The collection of files that the Code42 app backs up is your backup file selection. Typically, this is your User or Home folder. This tutorial explains how to:

  • Add files, folders, or drives to your backup file selection
  • Remove files, folders, or drives from your backup file selection

Video

 

Considerations

Important information about deselecting files

Deselected files are files you choose to delete from your backup file selection. Files no longer selected for backup are deleted from the backup archive the next time daily maintenance runs, and they cannot be restored.

Keep Important Files Selected
To ensure that files remain in your backup archive and can be restored, you must keep them in your file selection. This applies to files backed up from external drives as well. Deselecting locations or files is a destructive, irreversible action. Once files, drives, or directories have been deselected they are deleted from your backup archive and there is no way to recover them.

 

After replacing a device

Use caution when deselecting files from your backup selection, especially when updating your backup selection after replacing a device. If files from your previous device are deselected before the Code42 app de-duplicates the files in your backup with the files on your device, then the files are permanently deleted from your backup archive, and there is no way to recover them.

Warning

Because of this, the first time you enter the Manage Files browser after you replace a device, you are warned, "Deselecting files from your previous device can result in permanent loss of those files". If you recently replaced a device, review these considerations before deselecting files.

Steps

  1. Go to Manage Files.  
  2. Navigate to the drive, folder, or files that you want to add or remove, then:
    • Deselect the check box next to any item you want to delete from your backup.
    • Select an empty box to add an item to your backup.
    • A minus sign deselected indicates that a subfolder within this folder is selected for backup. New subfolders within the folder will not be automatically added to your backup file selection.
    • A check mark selected indicates that this folder is selected for backup. New subfolders within the folder will be automatically added to your backup file selection.

    Manage files included in or excluded from the file selection

  3. Click Save.
    If you deselected any files or folders, the Delete Files from Backup warning displays.
  4. If applicable, select I understand to confirm you want to delete deselected files from your backup.

    Delete files from backup message

  5. If applicable, select Delete.
    After changing the file selection, the Code42 app synchronizes the files selected for backup with the files already backed up to that destination.