Skip to main content

Who is this article for?

Incydr Professional, Enterprise, Horizon, and Gov F2
Incydr Basic, Advanced, and Gov F1

Find your product plan in the Code42 console on the Account menu.
Not an Incydr customer? For CrashPlan articles, search or browse.

Instructor, no.

Incydr Professional, Enterprise, Horizon, and Gov F2, no.

Incydr Basic, Advanced, and Gov F1, yes.

CrashPlan Cloud, no.

Retired product plans, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

HOME
GETTING STARTED
RELEASE NOTES
FAQs
APIs
SYSTEM STATUS
Code42 Support

Purge cold storage

Who is this article for?

Incydr Professional, Enterprise, Horizon, and Gov F2
Incydr Basic, Advanced, and Gov F1

Find your product plan in the Code42 console on the Account menu.
Not an Incydr customer? For CrashPlan articles, search or browse.

Instructor, no.

Incydr Professional, Enterprise, Horizon, and Gov F2, no.

Incydr Basic, Advanced, and Gov F1, yes.

CrashPlan Cloud, no.

Retired product plans, no.

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

Overview

After deactivating users or devices, their backup archives remain in cold storage. The length of the cold storage retention period depends on your deployment model. This article describes how to remove cold storage archives.

Reasons to purge archives

The Code42 cloud removes archives from cold storage automatically, based on the setting for your cold storage retention period. You may want to purge cold storage sooner than the scheduled removal process if you want to reallocate user licenses.

Purging an archive is permanent
Purging an archive from cold storage removes that archive permanently, and its data is unrecoverable. 

Considerations

  • There are two types of archives that appear in cold storage: Backup and Security. These archives consume licenses differently:

    • Backup archives consume a license while in cold storage. Purging Backup archives increases the number of licenses available in your Code42 environment.

    • Security archives do not consume a license when in cold storage. Purging Security archives has no effect on the number of available licenses.

  • Once a user's archives are purged, the associated license becomes available for other users after the Daily Accounting job runs. By default, this job runs every 24 hours.
  • If you purge a user's archive, and the user has another active archive, the user continues to consume a license.

Steps

Follow these steps to purge archives stored in the Code42 cloud. 

  1. Sign in to the Code42 console.
  2. Select Administration > Environment > Organizations.
  3. Stay on the Active tab or select Deactivated.
  4. Select an organization. 
  5. Click the value under Cold.
    Note: If the amount shows 0MB, there may still be an empty archive in cold storage.
  6. Use the checkboxes to select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.
  7. From the action menu in the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
  8. Click OK to permanently delete the archive.
    Once a user's archives are purged, the associated license becomes available for other users within 24 hours.