Cold storage license usage
Incydr Professional, Enterprise, Horizon, and Gov F2, no.
Incydr Basic, Advanced, and Gov F1, yes.
When users are deactivated, their backup archives go into cold storage where they continue to consume Code42 user licenses until they expire and are destroyed. To free up licenses before expiration, purge archives from cold storage.
Cold storage does not apply to the insider risk agent.
Free up licenses by purging cold storage
Archives associated with deactivated users and devices remain in cold storage for a retention period that varies depending on your deployment model. During that time, the archives continue to consume user licenses. An administrator can free up licenses by purging archives from cold storage. Once a user's archives are purged, the associated license becomes available for other users within 24 hours.
Data cannot be recovered from a purged backup archive.
The lifecycle of Code42 licenses and archives
- Activation: A user license activates when a Code42 agent connects to a Code42 cloud instance and backs up data. Sign in to the Code42 console, and select Administration > License Plan to view the number of available licenses.
- Deactivation: Administrators cut users off from the Code42 platform by deactivating them. Those users can no longer back up or retrieve data.
- Cold storage: Backup archives from deactivated users go into cold storage. Archives in cold storage continue to consume user licenses.
- Reactivation: So long as archives remain in cold storage, administrators can reactivate their users and reconnect users with backup archives.
- Purging: Purging archives from cold storage frees the associated licenses for use by other users. It also destroys the archives. No one can recover purged archives.
- Expiration: If archives are not purged, they become expired archives after the cold storage retention period. Expired archives do not consume user licenses. The associated licenses become available for use by other users and devices.
- Reactivation: An expired archive is not yet lost. It can be reactivated and re-associated with a user and device.
- Destruction: After the expired archive retention period, expired archives are destroyed and cannot be recovered. The length of the expired archive retention period varies depending on your deployment model.