How can we help?

We think these articles could help:

    See More
    Home > CrashPlan > Latest > Restoring > Restoring Files From The Web

    Restoring Files From The Web

    Applies to:
    • CrashPlan for Home
    • CrashPlan PRO
    • CrashPlan PROe

    Overview

    This tutorial explains how to restore files from the web. Web restore is designed to be a "quick fix" for restoring a few files when you need them, and is not designed for very large restores. Step-by-step instructions are provided for CrashPlan for Home, as well as for CrashPlan PRO and CrashPlan PROe.

    Before You Begin

    • If you are restoring all of your files because you recently reformatted or replaced a computer or hard drive, refer to our Restore Your Entire System article instead.
    • Only files backed up to a cloud destination, such as CrashPlan Central or CrashPlan PRO Online, can be restored from the web. If your file was not backed up to a cloud destination, then you should restore from the CrashPlan app instead.
    • To restore files to a mobile device, we recommend using the CrashPlan mobile app for iOSAndroid, or Windows Phone.

    CrashPlan For Home

    Considerations

    Web restore has a 500 MB limit per restore. If your restore selection exceeds 500 MB, we recommend restoring from the CrashPlan app instead, if possible.

    Steps

    1. Open a web browser and go to the CrashPlan web app
    2. Sign in to the CrashPlan web app with your CrashPlan account info
    3. Select Computers
    4. Locate the computer containing the files you want to restore and click Restore

    ​​Web restore

    1. Select the files or folders you want to restore from the file tree
      Note: Web restore has a 500 MB limit per restore

    Select files for restore

    1. (Optional) Select a calendar date to restore files as of a date other than the most recent date
    2. (Optional) Select Display deleted files
      The file tree refreshes to include deleted files
    3. Click Restore
    4. Select the link Click here to download your restored files to download your files
      The files are restored to the computer you're currently using
    5. If you're using a public computer, be sure to Log Out before leaving
    Decrypted Files

    When you use the CrashPlan web app to perform a web restore, your files are decrypted on CrashPlan's servers before being sent to your web browser. By default, the decrypted files are stored for 24 hours. However, you can opt to remove these files before their expiration period.

    To remove files from the server after you have downloaded them, click the red X that displays next to the expiration period in the Previous Restores area of CrashPlan web app.

    CrashPlan PRO And CrashPlan PROe

    Considerations

    The amount of data that can be restored over the web through the administration console is limited. If your restore selection exceeds the total allowed, we recommend restoring from the CrashPlan app instead, if possible.

    • CrashPlan PRO: Restores are limited to 250 MB per restore
    • CrashPlan PROe: Your administrator can restrict the maximum amount that can be downloaded per restore (250 MB by default)

    Steps

    1. Open a web browser and go to the administration console for the version of CrashPlan used by your business:
    2. Sign in with your account credentials

    Restore from the console

    1. Select Devices
    2. Locate the computer containing the files you want to restore and click the restore icon Restore icon

    Select files for restore

    1. (Optional) Select a calendar date to restore files as of a date other than the most recent date
    2.  (Optional) Select Display deleted files​ to restore previously-deleted files
       The file tree refreshes to include deleted files 
    3. Select the files or folders you want to restore from the file tree 
    4. Click Restore Click here to download zip file of restored files
    5. From the lower left of the window, select the link Click here to download to download the zip file containing your restored files
      The files are restored to the computer you're currently using
    6. If you're using a public computer, be sure to Sign Out before leaving​
    You must to post a comment.
    Last modified
    07:46, 21 May 2014

    Tags

    Classifications

    CrashPlan User Guide