Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Installing the Code42 app prompts for access to contacts, calendar, and tasks

Available in:

  • CrashPlan PRO
    • Standard
    • Premium
    • Enterprise
Applies to:

Overview

When installing or upgrading the Code42 app you may be prompted to grant access to your contacts, calendar, and tasks. This article explains why the Code42 app asks for access to these files and provides information on how to proceed.

Affects

The Code42 app on Mac.

Diagnosing

When the Code42 app is installed with standard user permissions, you may be presented with prompts to access your calendar, contacts, and tasks.

Calendar Access

By default, the Code42 app selects your user folder for backup, which includes the following locations that Mac prompts for access to:

/Users/{user}/Library/Application Support/AddressBook/
/Users/{user}/Library/Calendars/
/Users/{user}/Library/Containers/com.apple.reminders/Data/

Recommended solution

Click OK to allow the Code42 app to back up the contents of your user folder. If you select Don't Allow, the Code42 app proceeds to back up everything other than your contacts, calendars, and tasks.

Alternative solution

Uninstall and reinstall with the default administrator permissions.

  • Was this article helpful?