Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Can't find files after replacing a device

Available in:

StandardPremiumEnterprise
Small Business
Applies to:

Overview

If you don’t see your files in the Get Files browser after using the Code42 app’s replace device feature, it is typically because those files weren’t transferred to your device first. If this is the case, those files are retained in your backup as deleted files. To ensure those files aren’t lost unintentionally, we recommend downloading them to your current device as soon as possible by following the steps below.

Considerations

This article assumes that you have permission to change the deleted file retention settings. However, your administrator may lock these settings.

Under the hood

When you replace a device, all of the Code42 app's settings from that device are applied to the new device, including your backup file selection. If the Code42 app can't find the files on your current device, then they are marked as deleted files.

For example, assume you selected the folder C:\Users\John as your backup file selection on a previous device. When you replace this device with a new device:

  • The Code42 app scans the folder C:\Users\John.
  • Since the files weren't downloaded before replacing the device, the Code42 app doesn't find the files, and they are marked as "deleted".
  • At this point, if you look in the Code42 app under Get Files, most or all of your files don't display by default. However, you can still download these files as long as you follow the steps below.

Recommended solution

Step 1: Optimize your file retention settings

Begin by optimizing your deleted file retention setting. If you are unable to edit this setting, contact your administrator.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Choose Devices.Remove deleted files setting
  3. From Device Overview, click on the name of the device.
  4. Select the action menu.
  5. Choose Edit.
  6. Select Backup.
  7. From Frequency and Versions, move the slider for Remove deleted files to Never.
  8. Click Save.
Do not deselect files
Even if the file paths for your files have changed on your new device, do not deselect any file or folder paths from your old device at this time. Deselecting files and folders permanently removes files from your backup archive. Instead, download your files using the instructions below, then follow the instructions for adding files to your backup file selection and deselecting folders and files.

Step 2: Download your files

We recommend downloading the files from a date before you replaced your device. Alternatively, you can download all deleted files.

Download files to your device
To ensure the safety and integrity of your data, we always recommend storing a copy of files you want in your backup on your device. Files retained as deleted files in your backup, but not stored on your device, have a higher risk of unintentional data loss:
  • Deleted files are not visible in your backup file selection, making them easier to remove accidentally. Files removed from your backup file selection are permanently removed from your archive.
  • Deleted files may be permanently removed from your backup during archive maintenance, based on your file retention settings.

Option 1: Download files from a date prior to replacing device

The Code42 app allows you to download a "snapshot" of your file selections from a time before the Code42 app identified them as deleted.

  1. Open the Code42 app.
  2. Click Get Files.
  3. Click As of Today to open the date and time selection window.
  4. Select a date and time prior to replacing your device or drive.
    download from a previous date
  5. Select files to download.
  6. Click Get Files.
  7. Proceed to Step 3 to verify your backup file selection.

Option 2: Download all deleted files

Choose this option if you do not remember the last date that you had a file, or did not download files using the above method.

  1. Click Get Files.
  2. Select the options menu.
  3. Choose Include Deleted Files.
    This makes your "deleted" files available for download. Deleted files display a trash can icon to the right of the Date Modified column.

Include deleted files

  1. Select files to download.
  2. Click Get Files.
  3. Proceed to Step 3 to verify your backup file selection.

Step 3: Add folders to backup file selection

Now check your backup file selection to make sure your previous device and current device are included. If you used the replace device wizard to replace your device, then your file selection should be automatically updated to include both your previous and current device.

Adding your new folders to your backup file selection is important because:

  • You transferred the settings, including backup file selection, from your previous device. However, the folder locations on your new device may be different.
  • Your device user name may have changed, which increases the likelihood that files are now stored in different folders.
  • You may have downloaded files to locations that differ from their location on your previous device.

If you wish to remove folders or files, see Step 4: Deselecting Files And Folders.

Step 4: Deselect files and folders (optional)

Use caution when changing your file selection
  • Always wait for backup progress to complete before deselecting files. The time needed to back up depends on data de-duplication and the size of your backup selection.
  • You should only deselect files that you want to permanently and immediately delete from your backup archive.
  • There is no way to recover deselected files.
  • You will lose any historical versions associated with the deselected folders and files. Even if the file verification scan has updated the new location information for your files, any versions associated with the old deselected location will be lost.

When backup progress completes, you may choose to clean up your file selection by removing the old "missing" locations of your files.

If you are not concerned with maintaining historical versions, and you want to clean up your file selection by removing the old file and folder paths, you must follow these steps exactly in the sequence presented:

  1. Verify that the new location for the files is included in your backup file selection.
  2. Keep the original file location selected. Do not deselect any files at this time.
  3. Allow your backup status to reach 100% complete.
  4. It is now safe to deselect the old files and folders. You can restore these files from their new location on your new device.

When you change the backup file selection, the Code42 app starts scanning to compare your backup file selection with your backup archive. It may look like the Code42 app is starting your backup over, but it is not. This scan is a normal part of the process. There are several ways to confirm that your backup isn't starting over.