Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Uninstall and reinstall the Code42 CrashPlan app

Applies to:
  • Code42 CrashPlan (previously CrashPlan PROe)

Overview

Uninstalling and reinstalling the Code42 CrashPlan app can be a useful troubleshooting step for a number of unexpected behaviors, including issues with the CrashPlan service, network communication, or a corrupted cache file. Uninstalling and reinstalling can often correct the issue.

Before you begin

  • Before performing an uninstall and reinstall, try clearing the cache first. Often, this fixes issues and is quicker than uninstalling and reinstalling.
  • You must uninstall the CrashPlan app before reinstalling; make sure you complete all the steps to uninstall CrashPlan before reinstalling it.

Step 1: Uninstall the CrashPlan app

Standard uninstall

A standard uninstall leaves a small amount of information on your device so CrashPlan can remember your device when you reinstall.

Operating System Standard Uninstall
Windows
  1. Open the Control Panel and select Uninstall a Program.
  2. Select CrashPlan and choose Uninstall.

You may be prompted that another user on the device is signed in. If another user is signed in, it may prevent the CrashPlan app from uninstalling completely. We recommend coordinating with other users to ensure all users are signed out of their accounts before continuing.

Uninstall fails
If the uninstallation fails, follow Microsoft's instructions to fix problems that block programs from being installed or removed.
OS X
  1. Open the Finder.
  2. Press Command+Shift+G.
    A dialog box appears: Go to the folder.
  3. Paste this text into the dialog box:
    • Installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
    • Installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/Uninstall.app
  4. Click Go.
  5. Double-click Uninstall.
  6. Follow the prompts to complete the uninstallation process.
Linux
  1. Download CrashPlan.
  2. Uncompress the TGZ file in Downloads.
  3. Open Terminal and enter: cd ~/Downloads/CrashPlan-install
  4. Press Enter.
  5. Then enter: sudo ./uninstall.sh -i /usr/local/crashplan
  6. Press Enter.
  7. At the prompt, type YES to uninstall and press Enter.

Complete uninstall

A complete uninstall removes the CrashPlan identity file so that there is no trace of the previous installation. After completing the standard uninstall, follow the additional steps below only if instructed to do so by a Customer Champion:

Operating System Complete Uninstall
Windows
  1. Follow the standard uninstall process.
  2. Remove the following directory from your device:
    • If installed for everyone: C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan
    • If installed per user: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\<Local or Roaming>\CrashPlan
      • Depending on your network environment, user profiles can be either Local or Roaming.
OS X
  1. Follow the standard uninstall process.
  2. Remove the following directory from your device:
    • Installed for everyone: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan
    • Installed per user: ~/Library/Application Support/CrashPlan
Linux
  1. Follow the Standard Uninstall process.
  2. Remove the following directory from your system: /var/lib/crashplan

Step 2: Install the CrashPlan app

  1. Download the latest version of CrashPlan. See your administrator for guidelines on downloading the CrashPlan app.
  2. Once the download completes, unzip the installer.
  3. Run the CrashPlan Installer:
    • Windows: Double-click the Code42 CrashPlan installer file.
    • OS X: Double-click the Code42 CrashPlan DMG file, then double-click Install Code42 CrashPlan.
    • Linux: Run the install.sh shell script.
  1. Follow the prompts to complete the installation.
  2. Sign in to your existing account.

Additional installation information is available in the Installing CrashPlan article.

File verification scan
After you sign in, the CrashPlan app begins a file verification scan: CrashPlan inspects your file selection for any new, changed, or deleted files. Your backup continues from its previous state.

Replace your device after a complete uninstall

After performing a complete uninstall, you must follow the steps to replace your device in order to reconnect it to your existing backup.