Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Installing the Code42 CrashPlan app prompts for access to contacts, calendar, and tasks

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

When installing or upgrading the Code42 CrashPlan app you may be prompted to grant access to your contacts, calendar, and tasks. This article explains why the CrashPlan app asks for access to these files and provides information on how to proceed.

Affects

The Code42 CrashPlan app on Mac.

Diagnosing

When the CrashPlan app is installed with standard user permissions, you may be presented with prompts to access your calendar, contacts, and tasks.

Calendar Access

By default, the CrashPlan app selects your user folder for backup, which includes the following locations that Mac prompts for access to:

/Users/{user}/Library/Application Support/AddressBook/
/Users/{user}/Library/Calendars/
/Users/{user}/Library/Containers/com.apple.reminders/Data/

Recommended solution

Click OK to allow the CrashPlan app to back up the contents of your user folder. If you select Don't Allow, the CrashPlan app proceeds to back up everything other than your contacts, calendars, and tasks.

Alternative solution

Uninstall and reinstall with the default administrator permissions.

  • Was this article helpful?