Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Retain and download deleted files

Applies to:
  • Code42 CrashPlan (previously CrashPlan PROe)

Overview

The deleted file protection feature allows you to download files that you backed up with Code42 CrashPlan but are no longer on your device. This article explains how to use retention settings to keep deleted files in your backup archive as well as how to use the deleted files feature.

Retention settings for deleted files

If you back up a file with CrashPlan and later delete it from your device, CrashPlan keeps it in your backup archive for as long as indicated by your deleted files retention setting. This article assumes that the retention settings are set to never remove deleted files from the archive. However, your administrator may adjust this retention setting.

Deleted files retention for ransomware
Some ransomware programs change file extensions, causing the CrashPlan app to think the original files were deleted. This results in the original files being removed at the time set by the Remove Deleted Files value in the Frequency and Versions settings. Therefore, leave Remove Deleted Files at the default setting of Never to prevent removal of files in the event of a ransomware attack.

To learn how to verify or change your deleted file retention setting, see our article on specifying version settings.

Download deleted files

You can download deleted files from both the CrashPlan app and the administration console.

CrashPlan app

CrashPlan stores deleted files based on your version retention settings. To display or search for deleted files:

  1. From Home, select Get Files.
  2. Click the options menu.
  3. Choose Include deleted files.
  4. Select the files you want to download, and click Get Files.

Restore deleted files

After you enable Include deleted files, your deleted files appear in the file browser and can be downloaded. You may also search for deleted files by entering a term in the search bar.

Learn more about downloading files from the CrashPlan app.

Download files from an earlier date
Alternatively, if you know the date that the files were deleted, you can view your entire backup "as of" a date prior to deleting the files. From Get Files, click As of Today to open a calendar and select a previous date. The Get Files screen refreshes with the files that were backed up as of that date, including any files that have since been deleted.

Administration console

To display or search deleted files from the administration console:

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Select Devices.
  3. Locate the device containing the files you want to download and click Restore.
  4. Choose Display deleted files.
    The file tree refreshes to include deleted files.
  5. Select the files you want to download, and click Restore.

For more information on web restores, see downloading files from the administration console.

Display deleted files in the administration console

Download files from an earlier date
Alternatively, if you know the date that the files were deleted, you can view your entire backup "as of" a date prior to deleting the files. From the Restore files as of calendar, select a previous date. The file tree will refresh with the files that were backed up as of that date, including any files that have since been deleted.

Can I use CrashPlan to archive files deleted from my device?

While your retention settings may be set to never remove deleted files from your archive, we do not recommend using CrashPlan as a data archive service. There are several ways in which this can lead to inadvertent data loss:

  • If you deselect a folder from your backup file selection, any deleted files that were stored there are also deleted from your archive.
  • If you, or your administrator, change your deleted files retention setting, it could remove deleted files from your archive.

Since files deleted from your device have less visibility, it increases the possibility that changing your backup file selection or settings could result in accidental data loss. We always recommend keeping a copy of your files on the source device or drive.