Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Download all files on a new device or drive

Applies to:
  • Code42 CrashPlan (previously CrashPlan PROe)

Overview

This tutorial explains how to recover your user folder using version 5.0.x of the CrashPlan app. If you recently reformatted or replaced a device or hard drive, this process can be used to download your files from a previous state. Once your files are downloaded, you can replace your device to prevent a lengthy initial backup on your new device.

If you are using version 5.1.x or later of the CrashPlan app, follow our tutorial for using the replace device wizard to transfer files and settings from a previous device to a new device or reformatted drive.

Replace Device Wizard

Before you begin

  • Downloading a large number of files can take time. If you need to access several files quickly, we recommend downloading those files first before proceeding with this tutorial.
  • If you are downloading files to a different operating system (for example, moving from a Windows device to an OS X device), read the additional considerations below.
Keep your user name the Same
When replacing a device, we recommend setting up the new device with the same user name that you used on your previous device. If your user name changes, CrashPlan detects that the file paths for the files in your backup archive also changed. As a result, CrashPlan backs up these changes once the device is replaced. Even though CrashPlan doesn't back up the files themselves again, backing up the new file paths can be a lengthy process if you have a large number of files in your archive.

Step 1: Download and install CrashPlan

  1. Download and install the CrashPlan app.
    See your administrator for guidelines on downloading the CrashPlan app.
  2. Open the CrashPlan app and sign in to your existing account.

Step 2: Select folders to be downloaded

Start by telling CrashPlan what to download. Most users back up their user folder. The steps below guide you through downloading the data to a new user folder, even if the folder name is different than the original.

  1. From the list of your devices, select Get Files for the device containing the original files.
    The Get Files view appears.
  2. If you are backing up to multiple destinations, you can select the arrow next to the destination shown to choose a different destination. If you are downloading from a backup that is:
  • From the cloud: You must be connected to the Internet.
  • From an external hard drive: You must attach the archive before you can download files from that destination.
  1. Click As of Today to choose the version of the files to be downloaded.
  2. Choose a date and time just before you replaced or reformatted your device.
  3. Use the checkboxes to select the files and folders within your user folder.
  4. Click Get Files.

Downloading user folder example

Download your user folder
We recommend downloading the files and folders within your original user folder because most people store their important files there. If you have files backed up outside of your user folder, we recommend downloading those separately. You can use the same general approach described in this article, but choose a download location that makes sense for the files. If you have any questions, see our general article on downloading from the CrashPlan app.

Step 3: Modify your get files options

After you select Get Files, the Get Files Options appear. Now modify these options to tell CrashPlan where and how to download your files.

  1. From Save selected files to, select your user folder (typically, this is your name).
  2. From If file already exists, select Overwrite.
    Rename versus overwrite existing files
    This article assumes that your new device doesn't contain updated files that could be lost by overwriting. If this is not the case, ensure that the updated files have a unique name to avoid losing your updates.
  3. Confirm Permissions is set to Current.
    Get files options
  4. Select Go.
    Your download begins immediately.
    • The download manager displays the status of your downloaded files.
    • Even if you close the CrashPlan app, your files continue to download in the background.
Download tips
  • It is safe to close the CrashPlan app while the files download in the background.
  • If you are downloading a large amount of data, consider optimizing your computer settings to prevent disruptions.
  • Alternatively, if you don't want to download all of the files at once, you can shut down or put your device to sleep and the download will resume where it left off when it is powered on again.

Step 4: Replace your device

Once your files are downloaded, you can replace your device. This prevents a lengthy initial backup on your new device, and transfers all of your CrashPlan settings to the new installation of the app.
If you are replacing a device with a different operating system, follow these instructions instead.

Additional considerations

Download files to a different operating system

These considerations apply if you are, for example, moving from a Windows device to an OS X device.

  • Download your files to a specific location rather than the original location because the device you are downloading to has a different file-system structure than the original device.
  • In CrashPlan app version 5.1 and later, the option to save selected files to Original Location is automatically disabled when downloading files from a different operating system.
  • Some file metadata may be lost when downloading files to a different operating system. To preserve all file metadata, download to a device with the same operating system as the original.
  • Filenames containing characters that are illegal on the operating system you download to cannot be downloaded to that device. Download those files to a device of the same operating system or use the administration console to download those files.
Downloading OS X files to a Windows device
If you plan to download OS X files to a Windows device, we recommend using the more restrictive Windows naming rules with your OS X files to prevent any potential problems.

Download order

When downloading files, CrashPlan starts with the parent folder you selected followed by all of the folders and files inside it. For example, if you select Folder 1 and Folder 2 for download, and those folders look like this in your file browser:

  • Folder 1
    • Folder 1.1
    • Folder 1.2
  • Folder 2

CrashPlan will download the files and folders in this order:

  • Folder 1 and its contents
  • Folder 1.1 and its contents
  • Folder 1.2 and its contents
  • Folder 2 and its contents

Download deleted files

CrashPlan stores deleted files based on your version retention settings. To display or search for deleted files:

  1. From Home, select Get Files.
  2. Click the options menu.
  3. Choose Include deleted files.
  4. Select the files you want to download, and click Get Files.

Restore deleted files

After you enable Include deleted files, your deleted files appear in the file browser and can be downloaded. You may also search for deleted files by entering a term in the search bar.

Download deleted files on a new device
Typically users do not want to download all deleted files when moving to a new device. After downloading your files using the steps above, you can use this option to selectively download deleted files that you want on your new device.