- Code42 CrashPlan (previously CrashPlan PROe)
Code42 CrashPlan's backup sets can back up to separate destinations or to a single destination. However, if you back up multiple sets to a single destination, your file exclusions and retention settings apply to both sets. This article provides examples illustrating how these settings are applied when multiple sets back up to a single destination.
CrashPlan app using multiple backup sets and either of the following:
File exclusions specified for any backup set impact all sets backing up to the same destination.
- This article assumes that you have permission to add backup sets, create file exclusions, and change version and frequency settings. However, your administrator may lock these settings.
If you schedule multiple backup sets to run between specified times, and the backup sets go to the same destination, ensure that these times do not overlap. This ensures good backup performance. You can set backup sets to run on a specific schedule by changing the Backup will run setting to Between specified times.
File exclusion example
Exclusions applied to a backup set are applied to every backup set backing up to the same destination. For example, Backup Set 1 and Backup Set 2 both back up to the same destination, but they have different exclusion rules:
- Backup Set 1: Excludes files ending in .mp3, .mp4, and .wav
- Backup Set 2: No exclusions
Even though exclusions aren't specified for Backup Set 2, files from this set that are excluded in Backup Set 1 will not back up to the destination (.mp3, .mp4, and .wav files).
If you exclude a file in one set, and include it in another set that backs up to the same destination, CrashPlan may back up the file. However, the detects the exclusion and removes the file from the backup archive during archive maintenance.
Version and retention settings example
The version and retention settings from the backup set with the highest priority are applied to all sets backing up to the same destination. For example, Backup Set A and Backup Set B both back up to the same destination, but they have different exclusion rules:
- Backup Set A: Removes deleted files every day
- Backup Set B: Never removes deleted files
If Backup Set A is set as the first priority, then all deleted files, regardless of backup set, are removed from the destination after a day.
If Backup Set B is set as the first priority, then deleted files are never removed from the destination.