Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Mac Migration Assistant, Time Machine, and CrashPlan

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Small Business
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

After migrating your data and applications to a new computer, CrashPlan sees both machines as the same computer. Changing CrashPlan settings on one of the computers (for example, the computer name) also changes the settings on the second computer. Follow this troubleshooting article to differentiate the computers for CrashPlan.

Affects

The CrashPlan app on Mac OS X using Migration Assistant or Time Machine

Under the hood

CrashPlan ties every backup archive to its source computer with a unique computer ID. When you migrate CrashPlan using a program like Migration Assistant, the file containing this unique computer ID is transferred from the old computer to the new computer.

As a result, both computers share the same identity. Changes made in the CrashPlan app on one computer also update in the other computer. Additionally, the CrashPlan app doesn't give you the option to adopt.

Recommended solution

Use CrashPlan on both computers

To continue using CrashPlan on both computers, you can update the computer ID on one of the computers. We recommend updating the ID on the new computer. That way, the original computer can continue to back up to the existing archive and the new computer can start a new backup archive. To assign a new computer ID:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper-right corner.
    The CrashPlan command-line area opens.
  3. Enter: guid new
  4. Press Enter and close the window.

This process logs you out of the CrashPlan app. When prompted, log back in by choosing Existing account and entering your account email and password.

Use CrashPlan only on the new computer

To stop CrashPlan on the old computer, uninstall and completely remove the application (follow the instructions for your operating system to remove the directory containing the computer ID).