Skip to main content
Code42 Support

I need to restore a file but CrashPlan is synchronizing

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PRO
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

CrashPlan regularly performs a synchronizing operation to compare the files in your backup archive to the files on your computer. During synchronization, you cannot back up or restore from the Code42 cloud. However, if you need to restore a file while CrashPlan is synchronizing (for example, right after an adoption), this article provides solutions.

Considerations

Synchronizing durations vary depending on your internet connection, computer speed, and the size and type of files in your backup file selection. Once the synchronization finishes, backups and restores resume.

Recommended solution

If you back up to multiple destinations, you can restore from a friend's computer, an external hard drive, or another computer you own instead of the Code42 cloud.

Alternative solution

If you cannot wait for synchronizing to finish and you do not back up to multiple destinations, assign the computer a new computer identity and restore your files. After you restore your files, be sure to re-adopt your computer to resume your original backup.

  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper-right corner.
    The CrashPlan command-line area opens.
  3. Enter: guid new
  4. Press Enter and close the window.

You can now restore your files. Once the necessary files are restored, repeat steps 2-4, and then adopt your previous computer.