Skip to main content
Code42 Support

CrashPlan Status Messages

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PRO

Overview

The CrashPlan app displays various messages to keep you up to date with the status of your backup archive. This article lists the various messages that can be displayed and gives resources for resolving associated issues.

Authorization messages

When connecting to CrashPlan Central, the CrashPlan app checks several basic values, such as your username, password, subscription status, and application version. CrashPlan can display one of several error messages related to authorization:

Status Meaning
The information you entered is incorrect Your username or password is incorrect.
Unable to connect, check your network

The CrashPlan app is unable to connect to the server.

Subscription expired Your subscription may have expired. Change to a new subscription or enable auto-renew.
License limit reached You are backing up the maximum number of computers for your plan. Purchase more licenses to allow the computer to back up.
You have an older version You are running an older version of the CrashPlan app. Upgrade your version by uninstalling and reinstalling the newest version from our website.
Not authorized The destination server does not recognize your computer. Restart the CrashPlan service to reauthorize with the destination.

Network messages

Once the CrashPlan app has authorized with CrashPlan Central, it creates a network connection to the storage destination. If the storage destination cannot be reached, CrashPlan will display one of the following messages:

Status Meaning
Connecting to backup destination Either the source or destination are not currently ready for backup. This can occur when the system is starting up, and backup will begin when the system is up and running.

Network blocked

Backup paused - network blocked

The network has been blocked by limiting the networks available to CrashPlan.

Waiting for connection

Unable to back up - no connection for <time>

The CrashPlan app is unable to connect to the destination.

CrashPlan service messages

The local backup engine is the part of the CrashPlan app that monitors and processes your backup and sends it to the destination. During the normal operation of your backup, the engine may display one or more of the following messages:

Status Meaning
Scanning The CrashPlan app is scanning the items in your file selection.

Backup running

Backup running - <time> remaining

Your backup is currently running. The CrashPlan app may display an estimate of the time remaining before the backup is complete.
Backup complete! Your backup has completed.
Synchronizing The CrashPlan app is verifying the accuracy of your cache files by synchronizing the information with the backup destination.

Destination unavailable - Out of space at destination

Your backup destination has run out of storage space.

Destination unavailable - Maintaining backup files

Destination unavailable - backup files are being maintained

Your archive is currently undergoing archive maintenance.

Destination unavailable - backup files are being migrated

Your archive is being moved from its location to another location on the same destination.

Destination unavailable - backup location is being moved

Your archive is being moved from its location to another location on a different destination.

Destination unavailable - backup location is not accessible

The backup destination cannot be reached.
Destination unavailable - unknown problem

Contact our Customer Champions for Code42 for Enterprise support or CrashPlan PRO support.

Destination unavailable - legacy archive, contact support Contact our Customer Champions for Code42 for Enterprise support or CrashPlan PRO support.

Application messages

The CrashPlan app itself may also display messages when it cannot complete the current action due to on option or setting within the application:

Status Meaning

Next backup in <time>

There is new data to be backed up. Backup will begin at the next backup frequency interval.

Backup scheduled to begin at <time>

Your backup is scheduled to run only at certain times and will start at that scheduled time.

Waiting for restore to complete

A restore is currently running, and backup will resume once restore has completed.

Paused

Backup has been paused.

Backup paused - resuming in <time>

By default, the pause command stops backup for 24 hours. This message displays the time remaining until backup resumes.

Backup paused - waiting until user is away

CPU settings have been reduced to 0% while user is present, preventing backup when the computer is in use.

Backup paused - waiting until connected to power

Your battery level is too low. CrashPlan pauses backup when reaching 20% battery power by default.

Waiting for backup

Backup cannot proceed due to possible network issues.

Unable to back up - no archive encryption key

Your backup uses an enhanced security setting but no archive key password or custom key has been provided. Backup has been disabled until the correct archive key password or custom key is entered.

Unable to back up - no files selected for backup

Backup is not running because no files have been selected for backup.

Unable to back up - running on battery

Your battery power settings do not allow backing up on battery power. Change these settings or plug in a power cable.

Unable to back up - not scheduled to run

Backup is only scheduled to run at certain times and it is outside of the scheduled time.

Unable to back up - allotted capacity has been reduced

The amount of data that you are allowed to back up has been reduced below your current amount of data.
Restore has been disabled by your administrator. Contact your administrator for more information.
Code42 for Enterprise only
Your Code42 for Enterprise administrator has not granted permission to view, select, or restore backed up files.