Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Connection shows Network Blocked

Applies to:

    Overview

    The CrashPlan app displays a Network Blocked message when configured to block a specific network connection. Blocking a network may be useful if, for example, you want to block the wireless network at work so that CrashPlan doesn't use company bandwidth. This article includes instructions for blocking and unblocking CrashPlan's access to available networks.

    Diagnosing

    If the only available networks are blocked, then the backup status displays as Backup paused - network blocked.

    Network Blocked

    Recommended solution

    Follow the steps below to prevent the CrashPlan app from blocking certain networks for backup.

    Network Settings

    1. Open the CrashPlan app
    2. Select Settings > Network
    3. From Network interfaces, click Configure
      A window opens showing all available network interfaces
      Network Interfaces
    4. Check all of the networks you want the CrashPlan app to use
    5. Click Ok to save your changes
    6. From Wireless networks, click Configure
      A window opens showing all available wireless networks
      Wireless Interfaces
    7. Check all of the wireless networks you want the CrashPlan app to use
    8. Click Ok to save your changes
    9. Click Backup to verify the Network Blocked message no longer displays