Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Restore files after replacing a drive

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PRO
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

This tutorial explains how to restore files after replacing a hard drive containing files backed up with CrashPlan. This tutorial applies to replacing any storage drive, such as an external drive, hard drive, or solid state drive (SSD).

Replacing your entire system?
If you are replacing your entire system or a drive containing your operating system, refer to the instructions for restoring all files on a new drive instead. The article below applies to replacing a drive used for storage only.

Before you begin

When initially connected, CrashPlan scans the drive for your backed up files and doesn't find them. As a result, the CrashPlan app assumes they have been deleted and marks the files as missing. You can restore missing files as described in Step 2 below; however, the files are subject to your deleted files retention setting (Settings > Backup > Frequency and versions).

File Retention

Verify that your remove deleted files selection is set to never to ensure that none of the "missing" files are removed from your archive before they can be restored.

Recommended solution

We recommend replacing your drive using the same letter (Windows) and name as the original. This way, CrashPlan sees the new drive as a continuation of your existing backup and the version history of your files remains consistent.

Step 1: Update your new drive with the old drive’s name or letter

  1. Connect or install the new drive.
  2. Rename the drive to match the name of your previous drive, if necessary.
    If you don't remember the original drive name or letter, check the file path listed on the Backup tab of the CrashPlan app.
  3. (Windows) If your computer automatically assigned the drive a different letter than your previous drive, then update the letter to match the previous drive.

Step 2: Restore your files from a date prior to drive replacement

CrashPlan allows you to restore a "snapshot" of your file selections from a time before the CrashPlan app identified them as deleted.

  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. Click Restore.
  3. From the backup destination list, choose the destination from which you want to restore.

Restore

  1. Click Most Recent to open the date and time selection window.
    The setting is located near the bottom of the Restore tab.
  2. Select a date and time prior to replacing the drive.

Restore Date

  1. Click Desktop to change the restore location to original location.
  2. Select the files to be restored.
  3. Click Restore.

Alternative process

We strongly recommend that you replace your drive using the same letter (Windows) and name as the original drive, as described above. If you choose to replace the new drive using a different letter or name than the previous drive, then:

  1. Your old drive's files are marked as deleted. Restore your files using the restore deleted files option, or restore from a date prior to replacing the drive.
  2. Update your backup file selection to include the new drive.

Don't deselect your old drive from your backup selection
If you deselect your old drive before completing backup on your new drive, CrashPlan's archive maintenance process removes the files from the backup archive the next time it runs, and the files cannot be restored.
  1. Allow a complete backup of the restored files on your new drive. CrashPlan de-duplicates any information that has already been backed up to the destination.
  2. If you want to preserve file versions backed up before the drive was replaced, you must continue to include the old drive in your file selection, even after the new drive is backed up.
    See below for more information on retaining your file version history.

File version history

Including the replaced drive in your file selection preserves the version history of your files, allowing you to restore an older version of a file. When a drive is replaced with a different drive name or letter, your file history is split between the two drives. If you deselect the drive from your file selection, the version history of your files on your old drive will be lost.

For more information see Moving Files In Your Backup Selection.