Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Remove a backup destination

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan for Small Business
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

This article provides step-by-step instructions for removing a backup destination. You should remove a backup destination when:

  • A destination computer is no longer available for backup
  • You want to remove all of the files backed up to a destination from your backup archive

Considerations

Removing Backup Destinations
Removing a backup destination permanently deletes
all backup files stored on the destination. This cannot be reversed.

Remove a friend destination

CrashPlan for Home only

Use the following steps to remove a friend destination and delete the archive stored on your friend's computer:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app and go to Destinations
  2. Select Friends
  3. Click the name of the friend destination you want to remove
  4. Click Remove Backup Archive
    Remove friend destination
  5. Read the warning message carefully and confirm that you want to remove the selected destinationremove_folder_confirm.png
  6. (Optional) To remove the friend completely:
    • Go to Friends and select the friend
    • Click Remove Friend
    • Read the warning message carefully and confirm that you want to remove the friend

Remove a computer destination

CrashPlan for Home and Code42 for Enterprise only

Use the following steps to remove a computer destination and delete the archive stored on that computer:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app and go to Destinations
  2. Select Computers
  3. Click the name of the computer you want to remove
  4. Click Remove Backup ArchiveRemove computer
  5. Read the warning message carefully and confirm that you want to remove the selected destinationremove_folder_confirm.png
Deactivating a computer
Clicking Deactivate Computer deletes any record of the computer from your account and deletes all backup files at all destinations. Once confirmed, this decision cannot be reversed.

Remove a folder destination

Use the following steps to remove a folder destination and delete the archive stored there:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app and go to Destinations
  2. Select Folders
  3. Click the name of the folder you want to remove
  4. Click Remove Backup ArchiveRemove folder destination
  5. Read the warning message carefully and confirm that you want to remove the selected destination
    Remove folder destination warning
  6. If the folder is an external drive that isn't currently connected to the computer, click Delete to completely remove the folder destination

Remove a cloud destination

Use the following steps to remove the CrashPlan Central destination and delete the archive stored on the server:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app and go to Destinations
  2. Select Cloud
  3. Click the name of the destination you want to remove (e.g., CrashPlan Central)
  4. Click Remove Backup ArchiveRemove cloud destination
  5. Read the warning message carefully and confirm that you want to remove the selected destination

Remove cloud destination warning

Remove backup archives for destinations from the CrashPlan web app

CrashPlan for Home only

If you are unable to access the CrashPlan app, you can remove backup archives for destinations from the CrashPlan web app. Please contact our Customer Champions for Code42 for Enterprise support or CrashPlan for Small Business (previously CrashPlan PRO) support if you need assistance troubleshooting the CrashPlan app.

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan web app
  2. Select Computers and click the computer for which you want to remove a backup archive
  3. Clear the check box next to the destination for which you want to remove a backup archive
  4. Click Save
  5. Read the warning message carefully
  6. Confirm that you want to remove the backup archive for that destination by entering delete data
  7. Press SaveRemove destination web app