CrashPlan allows unlimited retention of your backed up files, but there are times that you may want to delete files from your backup archive. This article explains ways that you can remove files from a backup destination or remove a backup destination entirely.
Options to remove files
The CrashPlan app monitors your file selection and automatically backs up your data, but there are times when you may decide that there are files you don't want to back up. The CrashPlan app provides three ways to remove files from your backup destinations:
- By deselecting files, you can choose specific files and folders that you no longer want to back up.
- By removing files that have been deleted from your computer, you can reduce the size of your backup archive and make your backup more efficient.
- By removing a backup destination, you can completely remove an archive from a backup destination and delete all backups stored there.
Each of the methods described in this article involve deleting files or destinations from your backup. Exercise caution when following these steps as there is no way to recover your files once they are removed from your backup.
There are times that you may choose to remove specific locations or files from your backup. For example, since CrashPlan automatically selects your entire user folder for backup, you may want to remove your downloads folder from your backup selection to prevent every downloaded file from backing up. Backing up unnecessary files and folders uses more bandwidth, more storage at the destination, and slows down the backup of your other important files.
You should only deselect files that you want CrashPlan to permanently and immediately remove from your backup archive.
There is no way to recover deselected files.
You will lose any historical versions associated with the deselected folders and files.
- Go to Backup and click Change
- Navigate to the drive, folder or files that you want to add or remove, then:
- Deselect the check box next to any item you want to remove from your backup
- Select an empty box to add an item to your backup
- A solid square (Windows), or a minus sign (OS X), indicates that a subfolder within this folder is selected for backup
- A check mark indicates that this folder is selected for backup
- Click Save
If you deselected any files or folders, a warning appears
- If applicable, select I understand to confirm your changes
- Select Ok
After changing the file selection, CrashPlan synchronizes the files selected for backup with the files already backed up to that destination
The deselected files will be removed from your backup archive the next time maintenance runs on the destination. To manually start maintenance and remove the files more quickly, see Removing Files From Your Archive below.
Remove files that have been deleted from your computer
By default, files deleted from your computer are never removed from your backup archive. This prevents accidental data loss when something is removed from your computer.
However, you can change the deleted files retention setting to remove deleted files from your backup archive after a specific amount of time. For example, you may decide that you want to keep deleted files for only 90 days. This gives you 90 days to restore any files in your backup file selection that are no longer on your computer.
If you would like to remove individual files or folders from your backup, but you do not want to change your deleted files setting, you must:
- Open the CrashPlan app
- Go to Settings > Backup
- Click Configure next to Frequency and versions
- Change the Remove deleted files setting to something more frequent, such as every 90 days
In this example, any files deleted from your computer more than 90 days ago will be removed from your backup archive the next time maintenance runs on the destination. To manually start maintenance and remove the files more quickly, see Removing Files From Your Archive below.
Remove a backup destination
If you back up to multiple destinations, you may decide that you want to free up space at a destination by removing your backup from that location. This is also useful if one of your backup destinations is no longer available or has been decommissioned. For detailed steps, see our guide to removing a backup destination.
Remove files from your archive (optional)
When you remove files from your backup selection or change your version retention settings, the files are not actually removed from your archive until the next time maintenance runs on the destination. If you want files to be removed from your archive more quickly, follow these steps:
- Go to Settings > Backup
- Click Now next to Verify selection
CrashPlan performs a file verification scan
- Wait for CrashPlan to synchronize your file selection
- Go to Destinations
Select your backup destination
- Click Compact
Maintenance runs and removes the files from your archive