Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Change where backup data is stored

Applies to:

    Overview

    If you are adding storage that you would like to dedicate to your backup archives, you can tell CrashPlan to store the backup archive in a new location. This tutorial explains how to manage your location settings.

    How it works

    There are two different settings that control where to store your backup archives. You can specify:

    • A global default setting determines where backup data from new sources is stored (affects only new sources)
    • A computer-specific setting allows you to change the location of an existing backup archive for existing computers and for existing friends' computers.

    Change the global default location

    When backing up to another computer, or that computer backs up to you, the default location of the archive directory varies by operating system:

    • Windows Vista, 7, 8, 10, Server 2008, and Server 2012: C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\backupArchives
      To view this hidden folder, open a file browser and paste the path in the address bar. If you installed per user, see the file and folder hierarchy for file locations.
    • Windows XP: C:\Program Files\CrashPlan\backupArchives
      If you installed per user, see the file and folder hierarchy for file locations.
    • OS X: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/BackupArchives
    • Linux: /usr/local/var/crashplan/
    • Solaris: /opt/sfw/crashplan/backupArchives/

    Changing the default backup location directs any new, incoming computers' data to the specified location. Changing this setting does not affect the backup archive for any existing sources.

    Steps

    1. Click Settings > General.
    2. Click Inbound backup from other computers > Configure.
    3. Click the Default backup archive location folder Folder Icon icon.

    Inbound Backup Settings

    1. Navigate to the directory where you want backups stored.
      Select Directory
    2. Click Ok after you have selected the new directory.
    3. Click Ok to close Inbound Backup Settings.
    4. Click Save.

    Change friend's default location

    On the Friends tab, you can change where your friends' computers store backup data. Changing this setting affects backup data on new, incoming computers for the friend you specify and does not affect backup data for existing sources.

    Steps

    1. Click Friends.
    2. Select the friend whose backup location you want to change.
      NOTE: This part of the screen does not appear unless the “Allow this friend to back up to this computer” check box is checked.
    3. Click the Default location Folder Icon iconBackup Friend Destination
    4. Navigate to the folder.
    5. Click Ok.
    6. Click Save.

    Change existing locations

    You can also change where any existing source computers store backup data. When you change this setting to redirect the backup location, CrashPlan moves the entire backup archive so that all the archived data is in one place.

    You must do this for each computer for which you'd like to move the backup archive to another location.

    1. Go to Backup > Inbound.
    2. Click the source computer's name.
    3. Under Location, click the folder Folder Icon icon to open the directory window.
    4. Navigate to the new location and click Ok.
      CrashPlan begins moving the archive to the selected location and movement progress is displayed.
    5. When the move has completed, verify that the archive has been removed from the previous location.

    If you are moving an archive between drives, or you are using certain versions of Windows or Linux, the archive may be copied, instead of moved, to the new location. If the archive is still present at the old location after the move has completed, it is safe to delete the archive from the old location.