Skip to main content

This article applies to Cloud.

Other available versions:

Version 6 | Version 5icon.qnmark.png

Available in:

StandardPremiumEnterprise
Small Business
Code42 Support

Data retention in the Code42 cloud

This article applies to Cloud.

Other available versions:

Version 6 | Version 5icon.qnmark.png

Available in:

StandardPremiumEnterprise
Small Business

Overview

This article describes Code42 cloud data-retention periods of backup archives in the event of:

  • Conclusion of service
  • Deactivation of organization, user, or device

Affects

This retention policy applies to customers on the Code42 cloud.

It does not apply to:

Retention policy schedule

Conclusion of service

If you do not renew your subscription with Code42, or the service is otherwise terminated, Code42 deletes your data from the Code42 cloud according to the following data destruction schedule:

  • Data is retained for a grace period of: 30 days
  • After the 30-day grace period, data is held in cold storage for: 14 days
  • After the 14-day cold storage period, archives are marked as expired for: 20 days
  • After the 20-day expiration period, archives are permanently deleted

If you require faster removal, or an exception to the retention schedule, contact our Customer Champions​ for Code42 for Enterprise support.

Deactivation

If you deactivate individual users, devices, or organizations, data retention follows your cold storage retention settings configured in the administration console. If a user leaves your company or institution, the user's archives remain active until an administrator in your Code42 environment deactivates the user. When a user or device is deactivated, the associated archives move to cold storage.

Deactivating users with LDAP scripting
If you have integrated your Code42 environment with LDAP, you can use scripting to manage user deactivation.

Cold storage

Cold storage is a temporary storage state for data that is not actively being used by the Code42 environment. Archives in cold storage have been deactivated but not yet completely deleted.

Duration

The amount of time archives are kept in cold storage depends on the action that places the archives in cold storage: 

  • Conclusion of service
    Data is held in cold storage for 14 days before deletion.
  • Deactivation
    If you deactivate individual users, devices, or organizations, the data is held in cold storage per your cold storage retention settings configured in the administration console.

While archives are in cold storage, they are not monitored by the automatic archive maintenance process.

Conclusion of service

If you do not renew your service with Code42, or the service is otherwise terminated, Code42 deactivates your Code42 cloud storage. After deactivation of your Code42 cloud secure storage by Code42, the associated archives move to cold storage.

Expired archives

When an archive's cold storage retention period is over, it becomes an expired archive. By default, archives remain expired for 20 days, after which they are deleted. After an archive is deleted, the data is not recoverable.

  • Was this article helpful?