Skip to main content

Who is this article for?

Code42 for EnterpriseSee product plans and features
CrashPlan for Small Business 

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

Code42 for Enterprise, yes.

Link: Product plans and features.

This article applies to Cloud.

Other available versions:

Versions 6 and 7 | Version 5 | Version 4Link: What version am I on?

Code42 Support

Deactivate and reactivate users and devices

Who is this article for?

Code42 for EnterpriseSee product plans and features
CrashPlan for Small Business 

CrashPlan for Small Business, yes.

Code42 for Enterprise, yes.

Link: Product plans and features.

This article applies to Cloud.

Other available versions:

Versions 6 and 7 | Version 5 | Version 4Link: What version am I on?

Overview

To provide and revoke access to users' data in your Code42 environment, you may need to deactivate and reactivate users and devices. This article explains how to:

Definitions

The terms below are used throughout this article.

cold storage

Temporary holding state for archives after they are deactivated but before they expire and are permanently deleted. This is similar to a file in your computer’s Recycle Bin or Trash. A user who has an archive in cold storage still consumes a user subscription. Administrators can retrieve archives from cold storage throughout the cold storage retention period.

deactivate

Stop a backup and move the archive into cold storage (for eventual deletion). Subscriptions are not immediately freed by deactivation. Devices, users, and organizations can be deactivated. Deactivated users cannot sign in.

Before you begin

We recommend reviewing the structures for archive storage and user management in the Code42 platform:

Deactivate and reactivate users

Deactivate a user

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Select Administration > Users > Active.
  3. Select a user to view User Details.
  4. From the User Details, open the action menu.
  5. Click Deactivate.
  6. When prompted, click OK to confirm the user account deactivation.
    The user and all devices associated with this user account are deactivated immediately. All backup archives owned by this user are placed into cold storage.

Activate a deactivated user

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Select Administration > Users > Deactivated.
  3. Click the username you'd like to reactivate to display User Details.
  4. From the action menu, select Activate.
    When a user is reactivated, the user's archives are moved out of cold storage. If the user signs in to the Code42 app on the same device that was used before deactivation, backup resumes automatically. If the user signs in from a different device, the user must replace the device from the Code42 app or from the administration console (Code42 for Enterprise only) in order to resume backing up to the archives moved out of cold storage.

Deactivate and reactivate devices

Deactivate device

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Devices > Active.
  3. From the action menu, click Block. For Code42 environments that use customized Code42 app installers configured to auto-register users, Code42 recommends blocking the device before deactivating. Without first blocking the device, it may reactivate automatically.
  4. When prompted, click OK to confirm the device block.
  5. From the action menu, click Deactivate.
  6. When prompted, click OK to confirm the device deactivation.
    The device is immediately deactivated. The device's associated backup archives are placed into cold storage.

Activate a deactivated device

Before you can activate a deactivated device, the device's user must be active.
  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Devices > Deactivated.
  3. Click the device name to display Device Details.
  4. From the action menu, click Activate.
    When a device is reactivated, its archives are moved out of cold storage. When the user logs in to the device, backups resume automatically.