Skip to main content

Who is this article for?
Find your product plan in the Code42 console on the Account menu.

Incydr Professional and Enterprise
Incydr Basic and Advanced
Other product plans

Incydr Professional and Enterprise, yes.

Incydr Basic and Advanced, yes.

CrashPlan Cloud, yes.

Other product plans, yes.

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

This article applies to Code42 cloud environments.

Other available versions:

On-premises

HOME
GETTING STARTED
RELEASE NOTES
FAQs
APIs
SYSTEM STATUS
Code42 Support

Block, deauthorize, and deactivate

Who is this article for?
Find your product plan in the Code42 console on the Account menu.

Incydr Professional and Enterprise
Incydr Basic and Advanced
Other product plans

Incydr Professional and Enterprise, yes.

Incydr Basic and Advanced, yes.

CrashPlan Cloud, yes.

Other product plans, yes.

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

This article applies to Code42 cloud environments.

Other available versions:

On-premises

Overview

Code42 administrators can use block, deauthorize, and deactivate actions to control access to data and manage accounts. This article explains the impact each of these actions has on organizations, users, and devices in your Code42 environment.

Considerations

  • You must have administrative role permissions to perform block, deauthorize, and deactivate actions from the Code42 console.
  • You should understand the basic information hierarchy of the Code42 platform, including the definitions below:
Device

A single computer within your Code42 environment, identified by its GUIDMay be used interchangeably with endpoint

User

A single account in your Code42 environment. A user account has a single set of sign-in credentials (username and password) and a single encryption key for all backups. A user always belongs to one (and only one) organization.

Organization

The hierarchical level in the Code42 environment for users and their devices. Each user can belong to only one organization. You can define many settings at the organization level; different organizations can have different settings. An organization can contain child organizations, and an organization can exist without containing any users.

Blocking, deauthorizing, and deactivating at a glance

  • Blocking is a non-destructive action that prevents user access to your Code42 environment.
  • Deauthorizing signs a user out of a specific device. The user can sign in again at any time.
  • Deactivating is a destructive action that stops all activity for a device, user, or organization.

The following table provides additional details about each action:

  Incydr monitoring Backup activity1 Possible Backup Data Loss1 Applies to devices Applies to users Applies to organizations
Block1 Continues Continues No Yes Yes Yes
Deauthorize1 Stops Stops No Yes No No
Deactivate Stops Stops Yes Yes Yes Yes

1 Does not apply to Incydr Professional and Enterprise.

Block

Does not apply to Incydr Professional and Enterprise

Blocking prevents user access to the Code42 environment but is not destructive to existing data. Incydr monitoring and device backups continue without interruption. Specific implications for devices, users, and organizations are detailed below.

Device

When you block a device:

  • Users are signed out of the Code42 app on the blocked device and cannot sign in again on that device.
  • Users cannot access the Code42 app on the device to restore data or change settings.
  • Users can continue to use other devices.
  • Incydr monitoring continues without interruption.
  • Existing backups are not affected.
  • The Code42 service continues backing up new data on the device without interruption.
User

When you block a user:

  • Users cannot sign in to any part of your Code42 environment:
    • Users cannot sign in to the Code42 app on any device.
    • Users cannot sign in to the web-based Code42 console.
  • Users cannot restore data or change settings.
  • Incydr monitoring continues without interruption.
  • Existing backups are not affected.
  • The Code42 service continues backing up new data on the device without interruption.
  • If you have enabled File Metadata Collection, the user's file event data is retained for 90 days.
  • The Audit Log records a user's events for the last 90 days. To maintain Audit Log output for longer than 90 days, export the results to your own systems for storage.
  • Any alerts triggered by the user remain available in Alerts. However, for alerts that are older than 90 days, linked events may not display in Forensic Search.
  • If the user is associated with a case, that case remains available for ongoing investigations.
Organization

When you block an organization, all users in the organization are blocked, as well as all users in child organizations.

Blocks and licenses

Blocked devices still use a license.

Use case examples

  • Theft or loss: you may want backups to continue while searching for the device, but want to prevent unauthorized access to backup archives.
  • Licensing: if you are managing backups for a third party, you may need to block a user for billing purposes.
  • Legal: in legal proceedings, you may need to restrict access to data due to a legal hold. Users on legal hold cannot be deactivated, but they can be blocked. 

Unblock

When you unblock a device, user, or organization, normal access to the Code42 app is restored.

Deauthorize

Does not apply to Incydr Professional and Enterprise

Deauthorization only applies to devices. Users and organizations cannot be deauthorized. 

When you deauthorize a device:

  • The current user is signed out of the Code42 app. Users can sign in again at any time.
  • No data is deleted. However, Incydr monitoring and backup activity stop until the user signs in again. 
  • Users cannot access the Code42 app to restore data or change settings without signing in again.
  • If you have enabled File Metadata Collection, the user's file event data is retained for 90 days.
  • The Audit Log records a user's events for the last 90 days. To maintain Audit Log output for longer than 90 days, export the results to your own systems for storage.
  • Any alerts triggered by the user remain available in Alerts. However, for alerts that are older than 90 days, linked events may not display in Forensic Search.
  • If the user is associated with a case, that case remains available for ongoing investigations.

Deauthorizations and licenses

Deauthorized devices still use a license.

Use case examples

  • Troubleshooting: deauthorization is sometimes requested by our Customer Champions.
  • Testing: deauthorizing a device can be used to test a user's credentials or other behavior.
  • Theft or loss: the device will be unable to back up or restore files until the user has signed back in to the device.

Deactivate 

Deactivation is a destructive action that prevents access to the Code42 environment and removes user data from devices. Specific implications for devices, users, and organizations are detailed below.

Incydr Professional and Enterprise

Incydr Basic and Advanced, CrashPlan Cloud, and other plans

  • Was this article helpful?