Skip to main content

Who is this article for?

Code42 for EnterpriseSee product plans and features
CrashPlan for Small Business 

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, yes.

Link: Product plans and features.

This article applies to versions 6 and 7.

Code42 Support

Unable to sign in to the Code42 app on a new device

Who is this article for?

Code42 for EnterpriseSee product plans and features
CrashPlan for Small Business 

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, yes.

Link: Product plans and features.

This article applies to versions 6 and 7.

Overview

After upgrading to Code42 server version 6.7.2, users attempting to sign in to the Code42 app on a new device may see the error message "Unable to sign in." This can occur if the Remove deleted files version retention setting in the administration console is locked and set to Never. To correct this issue, follow the steps below to temporarily unlock and update the Remove deleted files setting.

Affects

Code42 environments that meet all of the following criteria:

  • Use an on-premises authority server that upgraded to Code42 server version 6.7.2 from a previous version.
  • Prevent users from changing version retention settings by locking them in the administration console.
  • Never changed the Remove deleted files setting from its default value of Never.
Resolved in version 6.7.3
This issue is resolved in version 6.7.3 of the Code42 server. If possible, we recommend upgrading to version 6.7.3 or later.

Recommended solution

To enable users to sign in to the Code42 app on new devices:

  1. Sign in to the administration console and navigate to the device backup settings:
    • To update all organizations, select Settings > Device Backup.
    • To update a single organization:
      1. Select Organizations > Active.
      2. Select an organization.
      3. From the action menu in the upper-right, select Device Backup Defaults.
  2. Select the Backup or Backup Sets tab.
  3. In the Frequency and versions section, click the lock icon to unlock the version retention settings.
    If there isn't a lock icon, go to the General tab and deselect Use device defaults from parent.
  4. Move the Remove deleted files slider from Never to Every year.
  5. Click Save, then immediately complete the remaining steps to eliminate the extremely unlikely chance that any device could start archive maintenance with this temporary setting.
  6. Move the Remove deleted files slider back to Never.
  7. Click the lock icon to re-lock the setting.
    If you deselected Use device defaults from parent in step 4 above, reselect it.
  8. Click Save.

Remove Deleted Files setting

  • Was this article helpful?