Skip to main content

Who is this article for?

Code42 for EnterpriseSee product plans and features
CrashPlan for Small Business 

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, yes.

Link: Product plans and features.

This article applies to versions 6 and 7.

Other available versions:

Cloud | Version 5 | Version 4Link: What version am I on?

Code42 Support

Purge cold storage

Overview

After deactivating users or devices, their backup archives remain on the store point in cold storage. The length of the cold storage retention period depends on your deployment model. This article describes how to remove cold storage archives from a store point.

Reasons to purge archives

The Code42 server removes archives from cold storage automatically, based on the setting for your cold storage retention period. There are several reasons you may want to purge cold storage on your store points sooner than the scheduled removal process.

  • Reclaiming disk space on a store point
  • Reallocating user subscriptions
  • Deactivating a failed store point
Other methods for managing storage
Purging an archive from cold storage removes that archive permanently, and its data is unrecoverable. Instead of purging archives, consider other methods of managing storage when your disk space is running low.

Considerations

Purged data is completely destroyed
No one can recover data from a purged backup archive. To preserve an archive before purging, copy it to a new location.

Reallocate user subscriptions

  • There are two types of archives that appear in cold storage: Backup and Security. These archives consume subscriptions differently:
    • Backup archives consume a subscription while in cold storage. Purging Backup archives increases the number of subscriptions available in your Code42 environment.
    • Security archives do not consume a subscription when in cold storage. Purging Security archives has no effect on the number of available subscriptions.
  • Once a user's archives are purged, the associated subscription becomes available for other users after the Daily Accounting job runs. By default, this job runs every 24 hours. If you have an on-premise authority server, you can start the job yourself:
    1. Navigate to Settings > Server.
    2. Select the action menu.
    3. Choose Run Daily Accounting.
  • If you purge a user's archive, and the user has another active archive, the user continues to consume a subscription.

Learn more: Code42 training video

This 5-minute video describes:

  • What cold storage is
  • How it affects license consumption
  • How long archives remain in cold storage
  • How to move backup archives into and out of cold storage

For a wide-selection of educational video, visit the Code42 University.

Steps

Purge archives from on-premises storage

Follow these steps when the archives you would like to purge reside in an on-premises destination.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Click Storage > Store Points.
  3. Click the value in the Cold column next to a store point.
    Note: If the amount shows 0MB, there may still be an empty archive in cold storage. You must purge this archive to remove the store point or reallocate the subscription.cold storage
  4. Select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.
  5. From the action menu in the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
    action menu
  6. Click OK to permanently delete the archives.
    Once a user's archives are purged, the associated subscription becomes available for other users within 24 hours.
    purge archive warning
Viewing cold storage details by organization
You can also view the cold storage details for a particular organization. From the Organization Overview, click the Cold value for the organization you'd like to view.

Purge archives from cloud storage

Follow these steps to purge archives stored in the Code42 cloud. Even if your authority server is on-premises, always follow these instructions when the archives you wish to purge are stored at a cloud destination.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Organizations.
  3. Click the value in the Cold column next to an organization.
    Note: If the amount shows 0MB, there may still be an empty archive in cold storage. You must purge this archive to remove the store point.
  4. Use the checkboxes to select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.
  5. From the action menu in the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
  6. Click OK to permanently delete the archive.
    Once a user's archives are purged, the associated subscription becomes available for other users within 24 hours.