Skip to main content

Who is this article for?

Code42 for EnterpriseSee product plans and features
CrashPlan for Small Business 

CrashPlan for Small Business, no.

Code42 for Enterprise, yes.

Link: Product plans and features.

This article applies to version 6 and later.

Other available versions:

Version 5Link: What version am I on?

Code42 Support

Preserve deactivated archives

Overview

When an administrator deactivates users, the users' archives remain on the storage server until the administrator manually purges the archives or until they expire from cold storage. In either case, the archives are permanently lost.

To preserve archives, we recommend extending your cold storage duration and/or placing a user on legal hold

If your Code42 environment has limitations that prevent you from extending cold storage (such as limited storage space or user licenses), or you cannot place a user on legal hold, contact our Customer Champions​ for Code42 for Enterprise support

Learn more: Code42 training video

This 5-minute video describes:

  • What cold storage is
  • How it affects license consumption
  • How long archives remain in cold storage
  • How to move backup archives into and out of cold storage

For a wide-selection of educational video, visit the Code42 University.