Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Deactivate and reactivate users and devices

Available in:

StandardPremiumEnterprise
Small Business
Applies to:

Overview

To provide and revoke access to users' data in your Code42 environment, you may need to deactivate and reactivate users and devices. This article explains how to:

Definitions

The terms below are used throughout this article.

cold storage

Temporary holding state for archives after they are deactivated, but before they expire and are permanently deleted. This is analogous to the period when a deleted file remains in the Recycle Bin or the Trash. Users who have backup archives in cold storage consume a user subscription. Administrators can retrieve archives from cold storage if the archives were backed up to a private cloud or hybrid cloud destination.

deactivate

Applies to devices, users, and organizations. Deactivation stops backup and causes associated archives to be placed into cold storage and eventually deleted. Subscriptions are not immediately freed by deactivation.

Before you begin

We recommend reviewing the structures for archive storage and user management in the Code42 platform:

Deactivate and reactivate users

Deactivate a user

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Select Administration > Users.
  3. (Version 6.5 and later) Select Active.
  4. Select a user to view User Details.
  5. From the User Details, open the action menu.
  6. Click Deactivate.
  7. When prompted, click OK to confirm the user account deactivation.
    The user and all devices associated with this user account are deactivated immediately. All backup archives owned by this user are placed into cold storage.

Activate a deactivated user

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Select Administration > Users.
  3. (Version 6.5 and later) Select Deactivated.
    (Version 6.0.x) From the action menu, select Show Deactivated.
    The display now shows only deactivated users.
  4. Click the username you'd like to reactivate to display User Details.
  5. From the action menu, select Activate.
Additional steps may be required
When you reactivate a user, the user's devices remain deactivated. You may also want to reactivate the user's devices.

Deactivate and reactivate devices

Deactivate device

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Administration > Devices.
  3. (Version 6.5 and later) Select Active
  4. Select the individual device you want to deactivate.
  5. From the action menu, click Block. For Code42 environments that use customized Code42 app installers configured to auto-register users, Code42 recommends blocking the device before deactivating. Without first blocking the device, it may reactivate automatically.
  6. When prompted, click OK to confirm the device block.
  7. From the action menu, click Deactivate.
  8. When prompted, click OK to confirm the device deactivation.
    The device is immediately deactivated. The device's associated backup archives are placed into cold storage.

Activate a deactivated device

Before you can activate a deactivated device, the device's user must be active.
  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Devices.
  3. (Version 6.5 and later) Select Deactivated to display deactivated devices.
    (Version 6.0.x) From the action menu, click Show Deactivated to display deactivated devices.
  4. Click the device name to display Device Details.
  5. From the action menu, click Activate.

Reattach a deactivated archive

In order to resume backing up or restoring from a device that was deactivated, you must reattach the archive to the device. The deactivated device's archive must still be in cold storage; backup archives that have been purged from cold storage cannot be recovered.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Activate the user account that owns the archive.
  3. Provide an active device for the archive in one of these ways:
  4. Reattach the backup archive:
    1. Go to Devices.
    2. Locate and select the user's device.
    3. From the action menu, choose Edit.
    4. Choose Backup (or Backup Sets, if configured).
    5. From Destinations, select the destinations holding the device's backup archives.
    6. Click Save.
Code42 cloud archives
If the archive is stored in the Code42 cloud, it may be a few hours before the archive is reattached and accessible for restores. If more than 24 hours have passed and the archive is still unavailable, contact our Customer Champions for Code42 for Enterprise support or CrashPlan for Small Business (previously CrashPlan PRO) support.

Back up after reattaching

If the user signs in to the Code42 app on the same device that was used before deactivation, backup resumes automatically. If the user signs in from a different device, you must adopt the archive from the device or from the administration console in order to resume backing up to the reattached archive.

Restore after reattaching

After reattaching the archive, you can restore files from the reattached backup archive.