- Code42 CrashPlan (previously CrashPlan PROe)
When users are deactivated, their backup archives go into cold storage where they continue to consume Code42 user licenses until they expire and are destroyed. To free up licenses before expiration, purge archives from cold storage. To preserve archives from permanent destruction, copy them to a new location. This article describes when an archive consume licenses and how to reduce the number of licenses consumed.
Purge cold storage to free up licenses
Archives associated with deactivated users and devices remain in cold storage for a retention period that varies depending on your deployment model. During that time, the archives continue to consume user licenses. An administrator can free up licenses by purging archives from cold storage. Once a user's archives are purged, the associated license becomes available for other users within 24 hours.
No one can recover data from a purged backup archive. To preserve an archive before purging, copy it to a new location.
Copy archives to preserve them
When administrators deactivate users, the Code42 platform eventually destroys those users' backup archives, according to their cold storage policy. They are either purged or they expire. In either case, such archives are gone; no one can recover them.
Administrators can preserve deactivated archives by copying the archive files to a location outside the Code42 platform's control before they expire or are purged.
The CrashPlan app does not back up copies of Code42 archives. Maintenance of archives copied out of Code42 cold storage is the customer's responsibility.
The lifecycle of Code42 licenses and archives
- Activation: A user license activates when a CrashPlan app connects to a Code42 master server and backs up data. Sign in to the administration console, and select Licensing to view the number of available licenses.
- Deactivation: Administrators cut users off from the Code42 platform by deactivating them. Those users can no longer back up or retrieve data.
- Cold storage: Backup archives from deactivated users go into cold storage. Archives in cold storage continue to consume user licenses.
- Reactivation: So long as archives remain in cold storage, administrators can reactivate their users and reconnect users with backup archives.
- Preservation: To save deactivated data from destruction, administrators can copy them to a location outside the Code42 platform. Copy the data before purging archives or letting them expire (stages 6 and 9 below).
- Purging: Purging archives from cold storage frees the associated licenses for use by other users. It also destroys the archives. No one can recover purged archives.
- Expiration: If archives are not purged, they become expired archives after the cold storage retention period. Expired archives do not consume user licenses. The associated licenses become available for use by other users and devices.
- Reactivation: An expired archive is not yet lost. It can be reactivated and re-associated with a user and device.
- Destruction: After the expired archive retention period, expired archives are destroyed and cannot be recovered. The length of the expired archive retention period varies depending on your deployment model.