Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Control computer-to-computer backup

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

To preserve network bandwidth or if storing archives on users' devices conflicts with your organization's security policy, you can disable computer-to-computer backup for all users or a specific organization. This tutorial explains how to control whether computer-to-computer backups are allowed in Code42 CrashPlan.

Before you begin

If you want to disable computer-to-computer backups, determine if any users have configured backups to computer destinations. Additional steps are required to disable computer-to-computer backups that are already configured.

Computer-to-computer backups initiated in CrashPlan app version 4.x only
The information contained in this article applies to computer-to-computer backups initiated in CrashPlan app version 4.x only. These backups will continue when version 4.x CrashPlan apps are upgraded to version 5.x, but you cannot initiate computer-to-computer backup in CrashPlan app versions 5.x and later.

Computer-to-computer backup settings

There are two settings that control users' ability to back up to other computers.

  • The Account devices destination setting either offers or revokes the ability to see other computers on the same account.
  • Accept inbound backups allows the creation of new computer-to-computer backups.

Interaction between backup settings

The combination of these two settings gives several options when selecting the settings for your Code42 environment.

  Offered Account devices destination Revoked Account devices destination
Accept inbound backup enabled Users can create computer-to-computer backups. Already created backups will continue, but no new backups can be created.
Accept inbound backup disabled and unlocked Users can create computer-to-computer backups. Already created backups will continue, but no new backups can be created.
Accept inbound backup disabled and locked All computer-to-computer backups are stopped and archives are deleted. Users can see other computers on their account, but cannot back up to them. All computer-to-computer backups are stopped and archives are deleted. Users cannot see other computers on their account.

Recommended combinations of backup settings

To avoid ambiguity, we recommend using one of the following combinations of backup settings.

  • To allow all computer-to-computer backup, leave the computer-to-computer backup settings at the defaults:
    • Account devices destination offered
    • Accept inbound backups disabled and unlocked
  • To deny all computer-to-computer backup, change the default settings to:
    • Account devices destination not offered
    • Accept inbound backups disabled and locked

Offer or revoke account device destinations

When the Account devices destination is offered in the administration console, users can see the Destinations > Computers screen within the CrashPlan app. Disabling the setting removes the option for new computer-to-computer backups system wide, or by organization.

Existing computer-to-computer backups
If you disable the Account devices backup destination after users have configured computer-to-computer backups, those backups are unaffected. To stop existing computer-to-computer backups and remove the archives, disable existing computer-to-computer backups.

Option 1: Configure account device destinations system wide

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Navigate to Settings > Organization > Destinations.
  3. Select or deselect Offer next to Account devices.
    • Selected: Allows users to add computer destinations to their backup plans.
    • Deselected: Prevents users from adding computer destinations to their backup plans.
  4. Click Save.

Disabling inheritance
If inheritance is disabled for an organization, that organization is not affected by changes to its parent organization.

Destination settings for all organizations

Option 2: Configure account device destinations for a specific organization

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Navigate to Organizations.
  3. Select the organization.
  4. Select Action menu > Edit > Destinations.
  5. Deselect Inherit destination settings from parent if necessary.
  6. Select or deselect Offer next to Account devices.
    • Selected: Allows users to add computer destinations to their backup plans.
    • Deselected: Prevents users from adding computer destinations to their backup plans.
  7. Click Save.

Disable existing computer-to-computer backups

The Accept inbound backups option in Backup Settings can prevent configuring new computer-to-computer backups system wide, by organization, or by device. Disable and lock Accept inbound backups in the administration console to disable existing computer-to-computer backups and remove the archives.

Device-specific inbound backup
You can disable inbound backup for a specific device by navigating to Devices, then selecting the device you want to disable. Go to Action menu > Edit to deselect Accept inbound backups.

Option 1: Disable existing computer-to-computer backups for all organizations

Archive removal
If you disable and lock Accept inbound backups, all computer-to-computer archives are deleted.
  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Navigate to Settings > Device Backup > General.
  3. Make sure Accept inbound backups is deselected to prevent computers from accepting inbound backups, then click Lock.

Inbound device settings under Settings > Device Backup > General

Updating locked settings
When updating existing, locked settings, you must unlock and relock the settings in order to apply them to existing archives. If you do not, new files will obey the new settings, but existing archives are not affected.

Option 2: Disable existing computer-to-computer backups for a specific organization

Archive removal
If you disable and lock Accept inbound backups, all computer-to-computer archives are deleted.
  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Navigate to Organizations.
  3. Select the organization.
  4. Select Action menu > Device Backup Defaults.
  5. Deselect Use device defaults from parent if necessary.
    Inbound backup setting for a specific organization
  6. Make sure Accept inbound backups is deselected to prevent computers from accepting inbound backups, then click Lock.

Updating locked settings
When updating existing, locked settings, you must unlock and relock the settings in order to apply them to existing archives. If you do not, new files will obey the new settings, but existing archives are not affected.