Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Purging Cold Storage

Applies to:
  • Code42 CrashPlan (previously CrashPlan PROe)

Overview

After deactivating users or devices, their backup archives remain on the store point in cold storage. The length of the cold storage retention period depends on your deployment model. This article describes how to remove cold storage archives from a store point.

Considerations

Purged data is completely destroyed
No one can recover data from a purged backup archive. To preserve an archive before purging, copy it to a new location.

Reasons to purge archives

The Code42 server removes archives from cold storage automatically, based on the setting for your cold storage retention period. There are several reasons you may want to purge cold storage on your store points sooner than the scheduled removal process.

  • Reclaiming disk space on a store point
  • Reallocating user licenses
  • Deactivating a failed store point
Other methods for managing storage
Purging an archive from cold storage removes that archive permanently, and its data is unrecoverable. Instead of purging archives, consider other methods of managing storage when your disk space is running low.

Hybrid deployment considerations

The process of purging archives from cold storage is slightly different in a hybrid cloud deployment of Code42 CrashPlan (previously CrashPlan PROe). Please follow the steps appropriate to your environment.

Steps

Purge archives from private cloud storage

Follow these steps when the archives you would like to purge reside at a private cloud destination.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Destinations > Store Points.
    Finding cold storage
  3. Click on the value in the Cold column next to a store point.
    Note: If the amount shows 0MB, there may still be an empty archive in cold storage. You must purge this archive to remove the store point.
  4. Use the checkboxes to select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.Selecting cold storage archives to purge

    To make it easier to find an archive to purge, perform the following steps to find the users and devices assigned to each archive:

    1. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Export All.
    2. In the exported CSV file, find the the user and device whose archive you want to purge from cold storage and note the archiveGUID for that user and device.
    3. In the administration console, select the cold storage archive with that archive GUID.
  5. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
    Purge archives menu option
  6. Click OK to permanently delete the archive.
    Purge archives warning
Viewing cold storage details by organization
You can also view the cold storage details for a particular organization. From the Organization Overview, click the Cold value for the organization you'd like to view.

Purge archives from public cloud storage

Follow these steps to purge archives that reside at a public cloud destination. If you have a hybrid environment, always follow these instructions when the archives you wish to purge are stored at a public cloud destination.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Organizations.
  3. Click on the value in the Cold column next to an organization.
    • Note: If the amount shows 0MB, there may still be an empty archive in cold storage. You must purge this archive to remove the store point.
  4. Use the checkboxes to select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.
    To make it easier to find an archive to purge, perform the following steps to find the users and devices assigned to each archive:
    1. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Export All.
    2. In the exported CSV file, find the the user and device whose archive you want to purge from cold storage and note the archiveGUID for that user and device.
    3. In the administration console, select the cold storage archive with that archive GUID.
  5. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
  6. Click OK to permanently delete the archive.

Purge archives from provider storage

Follow these steps to purge archives on a provider destination.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Organizations.
  3. Click on the value in the Cold column next to an organization.
    • Note: If the amount shows 0MB, there may still be an empty archive in cold storage. You must purge this archive to remove the store point.
  4. Use the checkboxes to select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.
    To make it easier to find an archive to purge, perform the following steps to find the users and devices assigned to each archive:
    1. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Export All.
    2. In the exported CSV file, find the the user and device whose archive you want to purge from cold storage and note the archiveGUID for that user and device.
    3. In the administration console, select the cold storage archive with that archive GUID.
  5. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
  6. Click OK to permanently delete the archive.