Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Remove a provider cloud destination

Applies to:

    Overview

    This article explains how to remove a Code42 cloud destination (also known as a "provider destination") from a Code42 environment that has an on-premises master server and multiple Code42 cloud destinations.

    Considerations

    Removing a single Code42 cloud destination removes ALL Code42 cloud destinations
    If you have more than one Code42 cloud destination (for example, Code42 cloud destinations in the United States, Europe, and Australia) removing a single destination removes all Code42 cloud destinations. This means all user data backed up to the Code42 cloud is removed.

    See below for options to remove only certain Code42 cloud destinations and preserve others.

    Option 1: Contact Code42

    If you have more than one Code42 cloud destination and only want to remove one, contact your Customer Success Manager (CSM) to request this change. If you do not know your specific CSM, contact csmsupport@code42.com. Your CSM will review your specific circumstances and facilitate removing the destination as appropriate.

    CSM emails are only monitored during business hours. If your issue is urgent, contact our Customer Champions​ for Code42 CrashPlan support.

    Option 2: Stop offering the destination

    As an alternative to completely removing the destination, you can stop offering the destination. This removes existing archives and prevents users from backing up to that destination, but preserves the ability for you to re-offer the destination later.

    Un-offering a destination deletes data
    When you stop offering a destination, all user backup archives stored on the destination are deleted. If you want to keep any data from this destination, take steps to save this data elsewhere before proceeding.

    To stop offering the destination: 

    1. Sign in to the administration console.
    2. Go to Settings > Organization > Destinations and deselect the destination.
      The Remove Destination From Org warning appears.
    3. Type "I AGREE" and click OK.
      Remove destination from org dialog
      The archives that were stored in the selected destination are placed into cold storage.
    4. For any child organization that does not inherit settings from its parent organization:
      1. Go to Organizations, and select the organization.
      2. From the action menu, select Edit.
      3. Go to Destinations and deselect the destination.
      4. Type "I AGREE" and click OK.
        The archives that were stored in the selected destination are placed into cold storage.