Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Locator service overloaded

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

This article explains how to interpret the following alert, and how to respond to the alert.

The table below displays where the alert appears and where it can be configured. The alert text is different on the configuration page than on the alerts page or email.

The locator service is used to enable SharePlan users to share files and folders with a SharePlan link.

Alert Text Location
Locator service has been overloaded by bad requests and is throttling. Email and Alerts Overview of the administration console

Locator service overloaded
Settings > Notifications of the administration console

Severity

Warning - although this alert indicates a serious issue that should be addressed, it does not pose an immediate risk of data loss, security breach, or service interruption. If the problem is not corrected, however, more severe problems could occur.

Cause

This alert is triggered when the locator service has received too many bad requests within a preconfigured period of time. This can overload the locator service on your enterprise server, therefore the server throttles the service until the overloaded condition ceases.

Possible effects

An overloaded locator service may interfere with the ability to share files and folders with a SharePlan link.

Recommended solution

Monitor the Locator service overloaded alert from Alerts Overview & Settings.

You can disable the locator service temporarily to avoid the issue. However, disabling the locator service will prevent SharePlan users from sharing files and folders with a SharePlan link. Contact our Customer Champions for CrashPlan PROe support or CrashPlan for Small Business (previously CrashPlan PRO) support if the problem persists.

Acknowledge the alert

The alert will continue to appear on the Alerts Overview window in the administration console until you acknowledge the alert. To acknowledge the alert, go to Alerts, select the alerts you want to acknowledge, and choose Acknowledge from the action menu.

  • Was this article helpful?