Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Managing Space When Disk Runs Low

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

Maintaining adequate storage space is an essential part of any backup solution. If your Code42 environment is running low on space, you may need to add more storage or free existing disk space that is being used for unneeded files, outdated file versions, or cold storage archives.

Adding Storage

If your Code42 environment is consuming most of its storage space, the best solution is usually adding more storage to a destination. This preserves existing archive history and all settings.

Adjusting Backup Selection

If you need more storage space but adding storage is not an option, review the backup selection for file types that could be excluded (such as users' music, movies, or other types of nonessential files).

Steps

To view or modify the device defaults:

  1. Sign in the administration console.
  2. Locate to the organization you would like to view or modify.
  3. From the action menu on the organization page, choose Device Defaults.
  4. Modify the include/exclude options for General or Backup according to your needs.
  5. Click the Push button to immediately apply the updated settings to all clients.
  6. Click Save.

Note that changing these device defaults does not immediately free up space on a destination. Disk space is freed up over time, according the archive maintenance schedule.

Adjusting Cold Storage Retention

As users and devices are deactivated, their archives are placed in cold storage, a temporary storage state for archives before they are permanently deleted. After archives are purged from cold storage, they enter an additional expired safety period. After the expired safety period ends, the archives are permanently deleted and non-recoverable.

By default, CrashPlan PROe retains archives in cold storage for 365 days. Administrators can modify the cold storage retention period for their environments at the global level or at the specific organization level.

How To Modify Cold Storage Retention Settings

To view or modify cold storage settings at the top level of your Code42 environment:

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Settings > Organization.
  3. Enter a new value in Move deactivated archives to cold storage for according to your needs.
  4. Click Save.

To view or modify cold storage settings for a specific organization:

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Organizations and select the organization you would like to review or modify.
  3. From the action menu in the upper-right corner, select Edit.
  4. Enter a new value in Move deactivated archives to cold storage for according to your needs.
  5. Click Save.

You can review each organization's cold storage retention policy from Settings > Organization.

Disabling Inheritance
If inheritance is disabled for an organization, that organization is not affected by changes to its parent organization.

Manually Purging Archives From Cold Storage

Manually purging individual archives from cold storage is a fast way to free up additional disk space.

Purged Archives
Once archives are purged, space is recovered and available immediately, but archives that are manually purged are completely removed from disk immediately and the data is unrecoverable!