Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Use backup sets

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

Backup sets are an option in CrashPlan PROe that can configure different groups of files to back up to different locations with different settings. For example, you can configure devices in your Code42 environment to back up frequently changed documents with a high priority each day, but also to back up relatively static system files with a lower priority only once a week.

Considerations

Different data to a single destination

Multiple backup sets can back up to the same destination or back up to different destinations. Before creating backup sets that back up to the same destination, please read these important considerations.

File exclusions

File exclusions specified for any backup set impact all sets backing up to the same destination.

For example, suppose Set A and Set B back up to an external hard drive destination. You create an exclusion for Set A indicating that files ending in .mp3 shouldn't back up. MP3s in Set B will back up to the destination normally, but these files are deleted from the destination during archive maintenance even though you haven't specified this exclusion for Set B.

Frequency and version settings

You can only apply one set of version and deleted file retention settings to backup sets backing up to the same destination. When multiple backup sets back up to the same destination, the version and deleted file retention settings from the backup set with the highest priority are applied to all sets backing up to that destination.

For example, backup Set 1 and Set 2 are both backing up to the same destination, and Set 1 has a higher priority than Set 2. You configure Set 1 to back up new versions of files every hour and Set 2 to back them up every 15 minutes. Both sets will back up according to their new versions settings. However, during archive maintenance on the backup destination, Set 2's retained versions are reduced to every hour because Set 1's settings take priority.

Different version and retention settings
If you would like different backup sets to have different version and deleted file retention settings, back up to multiple destinations.

Do not set your backup schedules to overlap

If you schedule multiple backup sets to run between specified times, and the backup sets go to the same destination, ensure that these times do not overlap. This ensures good backup performance. You can set backup sets to run on a specific schedule by changing the Backup will run setting to Between specified times

Same data to different destinations

It is possible to create separate backup sets that contain the same file or folder. This is often useful when creating redundant backups of the same data to different destinations.

If you select the same file or folder in multiple backup sets, removing it from one backup set does not remove it from others.

Subscription status

(CrashPlan for Home only)

A number of features are exclusively available to subscribers, including creating and modifying backup sets. If your trial or subscription lapses, any previously created backup sets will continue to back up regularly, but you will be unable to create or modify any additional backup sets.

Creating backup sets

  1. Sign in to your administration console.
  2. Navigate to an organization, then click the Action menu > Device Defaults.
    • If you wish to configure backup sets for your top-level organization and all inheriting organizations, go to Settings > Device Backup.
  3. In General, deselect Use device defaults from parent.
  4. Click Save.
  5. In Backup, click Enable.
    The normal backup options will change to show the full set of configuration settings for backup sets.
  6. Configure the Backup Set options according to your needs.

Backup Sets Settings In Administration Console

Item Description
a Backup Set List Lists the name of each backup set.
b Add Adds a new backup set.
c Remove Deletes the selected backup set.
d Lock

Locks the configured backup sets:

  • Locking this setting prevents users from adding or removing any backup sets.
  • Locking this setting does not prevent users from changing the settings of backup sets.
e Name The name of the backup set. Change this text to change the name of the backup set. This setting is user-facing.
f Priority The priority of the backup set. The set with priority 1 will back up completely before beginning the set with priority 2, and so on.
g Lock Set Applies the Lock action to each individual setting configured for this backup set.
h Push Set Indicates whether or not a change in this setting applies to existing users in addition to new users.
i Backup will run Indicates whether backups are always running or running only at specific times
  Always - Backup is always running
 

Between specified times - Backup will run only at specified times

Time options

j Verify selection every Scans system for file changes and deleted files within your backup selection at the interval and time of day you specify. If the computer is powered off or asleep at the scheduled scan time, the scan will wait until the next scheduled scan time to run.
k Lock Locks this individual setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
l Push Indicates whether or not a change in this setting applies to existing users in addition to new users.

Modifying backup sets

You can modify your backup sets at any time. The process for changing backup sets is the same as creating backup sets.

Removing backup sets

Removing items from a backup set carries the same risks as removing items from a backup selection:

Deselected files are files you have removed from your backup file selection. Files no longer selected for backup are removed from the backup archive the next time CrashPlan performs daily maintenance, and they cannot be restored.

Keep Important Files Selected
To ensure that files remain in your backup archive and can be restored, you must keep them in your file selection. This applies to files backed up from external drives as well. Deselecting locations or files is a destructive, irreversible action. Once files, drives, or directories have been deselected they are removed from your backup archive and there is no way to recover them.

  • Was this article helpful?