Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Change destinations for your Code42 environment from local to cloud

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

The Code42 platform allows you to change where data is stored while continuing to use your onsite master server for authentication and storage of encryption keys.

This tutorial explains how to add a cloud destination to your Code42 environment and remove your local destinations.

Before you begin

Make sure you are familiar with the following terms:

  1. Destinations:

    (1) General term applied to locations to which your files are backed up: your server, an external drive, or with online hosted storage.
    (2) Highest level in the Code42 environment storage hierarchy. A named grouping of enterprise servers and store points on a single LAN or at a single data center.

  2. Storage server:

    A type of enterprise server. A storage server is used only for storage in multi-server deployments. A storage server cannot function as a failover for a master server. A storage server depends on user authorization provided by the master server.

  3. Store point:

    A storage location within a server that can store archives. The lowest level in the Code42 environment storage hierarchy.

If you have questions about this process, please contact our Customer Champions for CrashPlan PROe support or CrashPlan for Small Business (previously CrashPlan PRO) support.

Adding a cloud destination

Step 1: Adding the cloud destination

Add a cloud provider destination to your Code42 environment using the Provider Key supplied by Code42 or another cloud storage provider. Contact your storage provider to get the Provider Key.

Step 2: Offering the cloud destination

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Navigate to Settings > Organization > Destinations.
  3. Select Offer next to the cloud destination.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Go to Organizations and choose an organization.
  6. From the action menu, select Edit > Destinations.
  7. Verify the cloud destination is offered.
    If the child organization does not inherit the settings from its parent organization:
    1. Select Offer for the cloud destination to offer it to the devices in the child organization.
    2. Click Save.
      Disabling inheritance
      If inheritance is disabled for an organization, that organization is not affected by changes to its parent organization.
  8. Go to Settings > Device Backup > Backup.
  9. In the Destinations section, verify Auto-start is selected for the new cloud destination. If Auto-start is not selected:
    1. Select Auto-start.
    2. Click Push setting to devices.
    3. Choose to push the destination settings to all devices, or only to inheriting organizations.
    4. Select I understand.
    5. Click Push.

Step 3: Confirming devices are using the cloud destination

  1. From a user's device, open the CrashPlan app.
  2. Go to Backup and confirm that the CrashPlan app is backing up to the cloud destination.

After performing the steps above, backup will continue to both local and cloud destinations. We recommend keeping the local destination and store points until you have confirmed your users and their devices have completely backed up to the new cloud destination.

Removing the local destination

Data retention
You may need to keep the local store points and destination online until your organization's data retention policy allows you to permanently delete the original local archives. The original, local archives contain file versions and deleted files that new archives in cloud storage will not be able to restore.

If you are prepared to delete the local store points and/or destination and all associated data, follow the steps below:

Step 1: Stop offering the local destination

When you stop offering the local destination, all existing archives on the local destination will be sent to cold storage.

Cold storage
If you plan to keep archives in cold storage on a local destination until backups to the new cloud storage have completed, this step should be delayed until the backups to the cloud destination have completed.
  1. Navigate to Settings > Organization.
  2. Select Destinations.
  3. Deselect the local destination.
    A data loss warning appears.
  4. Type "I AGREE" in the text box, and click OK.
  5. For each organization that does not inherit settings from the parent organization, do the following:
    1. Go to Organizations and select an organization.
    2. From the action menu, select Edit.
    3. Select Destinations.
    4. Deselect the local destination.
      A data loss warning appears.
    5. Type "I AGREE" in the text box.
    6. Click OK.

The archives that were stored in the selected destination are placed into cold storage.

Step 2: Purge the archives in cold storage

Archives in cold storage must be purged manually, or you must wait until the cold storage retention period has expired. To manually purge the archives from cold storage:

  1. From Destinations > Store Points, click the value in the Cold column of the row for the store point you wish to empty.
  2. Select the top left checkbox to select all archives in cold storage on this store point.
    Selecting cold storage
  3. From the action menu, select Purge Archive.
    A data loss warning appears.
    Data loss
    Data loss will occur when purging cold storage. Once purged, there is no way to recover the data. You should ensure that source devices have fully backed up to the new cloud destination before purging the archives, and that you are retaining your users' data according your organization's data retention policy.
  4. Click OK.
    Archives are immediately purged.

Step 3: Remove the Store point and Storage server

A store point can only be removed when all archives have been deleted and purged, and all organizations and users have been completely removed from the store point. To remove the store point:

  1. Go to Destinations > Store Points and select the local store point.
  2. From the action menu, choose Remove.
    The Remove Store Point message appears.
  3. Select Remove, even if files are still present.
  4. Click Remove.
  5. Go to Destinations > Servers and select the local server.
  6. From the action menu, choose Remove.
    A message displays in the lower left of the administration console verifying that the server was removed.

Step 4: Remove the destination

You may remove destinations that are no longer needed after moving to cloud-based storage. You may not remove the default destination for the master server, however. A destination can only be removed when the destination is no longer offered for storage, and all devices and organizations have stopped sending data to the destination. To remove the local destination:

  1. From Destinations, select the destination you want to remove.
  2. From the action menu, choose Remove.
    The warning message, "Removing this destination will no longer allow users to back up to this destination" appears.
  3. Click OK.
    A message displays in the lower left of the administration console verifying that the destination was removed.