Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Purging Cold Storage On Version 3.6.x Storage Servers

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

There is a known issue in CrashPlan PROe version 3.6: when purging an archive in cold storage on a storage server, the archive is not immediately removed. Instead, it is marked as an expired archive and remains on your storage server until the end of your expired archive retention period.

This article describes how to immediately purge an archive from cold storage in this situation.

Affects

Storage servers running CrashPlan PROe version 3.6.x

Considerations

  • This issue does not affect archives in cold storage on your master server or in the Code42 cloud.
  • Before attempting this solution, understand how cold storage works and the effects of purging archives:

Recommended solution

  1. Sign in to the administration console on your master server.
  2. Follow the standard steps to purge the desired archives from cold storage.
    The known issue causes the archives to be marked as expired, not purged.
  3. Sign in to the administration console on the storage server that contains the expired archive.
  4. Double-click the Code42 logo in the top-left corner to open the administration console command-line interface.
  5. Enter this command: node.sync
    The storage server exchanges data with your master server.
  6. Wait several minutes for node.sync to complete.
  7. Enter this command: repository.vacuumer
    The storage server processes archives correctly and marks them as expired.
  8. On the file system of your storage server, locate the expired archives.
  9. Delete the expired archives as desired to free up storage space before the end of the expired archive retention period.