Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Purging Cold Storage

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe
Your Code42 environment removes archives from cold storage automatically, based on the setting for your cold storage retention period. Removing an archive before the end of this retention period can be useful for reclaiming disk space, reallocating user licenses, or deactivating a failed store point. This article explains how Code42 environment administrators can purge archives from cold storage. This article describes purging cold storage in version 3.x of CrashPlan PROe. If your enterprise servers are running version 4.x, see Purging Cold Storage for version 4.x.

Considerations

CrashPlan PROe version 3.6
There is a known issue in CrashPlan PROe version 3.6: when purging an archive in cold storage on a storage server, the archive is not immediately removed. For more information, see Purging Cold Storage On Version 3.6.x Storage Servers.

Steps

The process of purging archives from cold storage is slightly different depending on where the archives are stored:

  • On your enterprise server(s)
  • On a provider storage location, including the Code42 cloud

Purging archives from your Enterprise server

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Destinations > Store Points.
    Finding cold storage
  3. Click on the value in the Cold column next to a store point.
  4. Use the checkboxes to select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.
    Finding cold storage
  5. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
    Purge cold storage
  6. Click OK to permanently delete the archive.
    Purge warning
Viewing cold storage details by organization
You can also view the cold storage details for a particular organization. From the Organization Overview, click the Cold value for the organization you'd like to view.

Purging archives from provider storage

These steps also apply to purging archives stored on the Code42 cloud.

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Go to Organizations.
  3. Click on the value in the Cold column next to an organization.
    • Note: If the amount shows 0MB, there may still be an empty archive in cold storage. You must purge this archive to remove the store point.
  4. Use the checkboxes to select the archives you want to purge from cold storage.
  5. From the action menu on the upper-left, select Purge Archive.
  6. Click OK to permanently delete the archive.

Video tutorial

This video tutorial describes a variety of archive management tasks, including purging archives.