How can we help?

We think these articles could help:

    See More
    Home > CrashPlan > Latest > Troubleshooting > Missing Files From The Restore Tab

    Missing Files From The Restore Tab

    Applies to:
    • CrashPlan for Home
    • CrashPlan PRO
    • CrashPlan PROe

    Overview

    If you notice that some or all of your files appear to be missing from the Restore tab, read this tutorial to troubleshoot the issue.

    Under The Hood

    There are several possible causes:

    • Files were removed from the file selection and were consequently removed from the archive
    • Files were deleted from the source computer and now they are marked as deleted in the archive
    • Issues with CrashPlan's local cache files

    Confirm Your Backup File Selection

    First, check your file selection in Backup > Files > Change to confirm that the files are included in your backup file selection. Removing files or folders from the backup file selection also removes them from the archive. If necessary, update your file selection to include the files.

    If the files were moved to a location outside of the backup file selection, you can add the new location to your selection. CrashPlan will de-duplicate the data so it won't have to upload it again, and it will register that it's also being backed up from this new location.

    Check Your Deleted Files

    If files were deleted from the source computer, they remain in the archive for as long as your deleted file retention settings specify (Settings > Backup > Frequency and Versions). To view and restore deleted files, check the show deleted files checkbox in the Restore tab. 

    Check For Cache Issues

    If the previous steps haven't resolved the issue, your CrashPlan app may have cache issues. If you see all of the following conditions, this may indicate a problem with your local CrashPlan cache:

    • Restore screen displays “no files found”
    • Backup says it is 100% complete, or has recently been 100% complete
    • Files are displayed in Restore tab if you search for a specific file that you know has been backed up
    • Files are available via web restore (if backing up to CrashPlan Central)

    This is a display issue and is normally resolved by clearing your CrashPlan cache so the cache can rebuild itself. Clearing the cache is a safe operation and no backup data is at risk.

    To rebuild the cache, you can use the backup.replace command described below. This command varies based on the product you are using.

    Note: Upon issuing the command, CrashPlan immediately erases its cache files on your computer and starts synchronizing your file selection to your backup destinations. While it may look like the backup process is starting over, CrashPlan is rebuilding your cache. Please allow CrashPlan time to complete this process.

    CrashPlan for Home

    1. Open the CrashPlan app
    2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper right
      The CrashPlan command-line area opens
    3. Enter the command that corresponds to your location:
    • US and international customers (excluding Australia and New Zealand), enter backup.replace 42
    • Australia and New Zealand customers, enter backup.replace 61
    1. Press Enter

    CrashPlan PRO

    1. Open the CrashPlan app
    2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper right
      The CrashPlan command-line area opens
    3. Enter the command that corresponds to your location:
    • US and Canada customers, enter backup.replace 41
    • Australia and New Zealand customers, enter backup.replace 62
    1. Press Enter

    CrashPlan PROe Public Cloud

    1. Open the CrashPlan app
    2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper right
      The CrashPlan command-line area opens
    3. Enter the command that corresponds to your location:
    • US and Canada customers, enter backup.replace 43
    • Internet2 US customers, enterbackup.replace 582386416609132545
    • Australia and New Zealand customers, enter backup.replace 63
    • Singapore customers, enter backup.replace 587738803578339329
    • Dublin customers, enter backup.replace 552089216100597761
    1. Press Enter

    CrashPlan PROe Private Cloud

    Check the Destinations section of the client's app.log to determine the destination GUID to use, then:

    1. Open the CrashPlan app
    2. Double-click the CrashPlan logo in the upper right
      The CrashPlan command-line area opens
    3. Enter: backup.replace <destinationGUID>
    4. Press Enter

    Manually Clearing The Cache

    1. Stop the CrashPlan service
    2. Navigate to the cache directory for your operating system:
    • Windows Vista / 7 / 8 / 2008: Open Windows Explorer and paste C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\cache into the address bar
    • Windows XP / 2003: Open Windows Explorer and paste C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\CrashPlan\cache into the address bar
    • Mac OS X: Open the Finder, press Command-Shift-G, and paste /Library/Caches/CrashPlan into the dialog
    • Linux: Open the directory /usr/local/crashplan/cache

    CrashPlan Cache Folder Mac

    1. Delete all files and folders found within this folder
      If you are only having trouble with Friend (computer-to-computer) or local backups, delete all files and folders that are not numbered 41, 42, 43, 61, 62, or 63
    2. Empty your computer's trash
    3. Start the CrashPlan service

    You must to post a comment.
    Last Modified
    10:27, 12 Nov 2013

    Tags