How can we help?

We think these articles could help:

    See More
    Home > CrashPlan > Latest > Getting Started > Computer Destinations Overview & Settings

    Computer Destinations Overview & Settings

    Applies to:
    • CrashPlan for Home
    • CrashPlan PROe

    Overview

    The Destinations > Computers tab displays other computers on your account available for you to use as backup destinations. You can also view the status of backups in progress, rename and remove destinations, and review other information about each computer destination such as space used, space allocated, and IP address.

    No Backup Started

    If you have not yet established another computer to use as a backup destination, you see instructions for how to back up to another computer.

    Computers

    Item Description
    a Computers list List of computers running CrashPlan under this account. You can back up to these computers. Click a computer to view destination details.
    b Name Name of the backup destination. You can change the name of the destination to something that is easier for you to recognize.
    c Deactivate Computer Completely removes this computer from your account. Backup data is deleted from the destination computer.
    d Instructions Steps for backing up to another computer on your account.
    e Start Backup Begins backing up to selected computer.
    f Undo Changes Click to set the features back to previous settings (same effect as cancel).
    g Save Click to apply changes.

    Backup Established

    Once you have started backing up to another computer, you see information related to that destination.

    Computer Destinations Backup In Progress

    Item Description
    a Your computers List of computers running CrashPlan under this account. You can back up to these computers. Click a computer to view destination details.
    b Name Name of the backup destination. You can change the name of the destination to something that is easier for you to recognize.
    c Deactivate Computer Completely removes this computer from your account. Backup data is deleted from the destination computer.
    d –     Progress bar indicates status of current backup or time since last backup to this destination.
    e Space quota Amount of space allocated for your backup archive on this computer. Automatic means that there are no space restrictions.
    f Space used Amount of space your archive has used on this computer.
    g Compact Reclaims space in the back up archive by immediately applying file selection or retention policy changes (such as how many versions to keep and how long to keep deleted files). Click Compact when you want to reclaim space sooner than specified with the “Maintain archives…” setting.
    h Internet address IP address of destination computer.
    i Connection status How long this computer has been connected. If the attempt failed, the Retry button appears.
    j Remove Backup Destination Discontinue using this computer as a backup destination for this source computer (the computer you are using to view this screen right now).  The destination computer can still be used as a destination for other computers on your account.
    WARNING: After you click this button and click Save, the backup archives for the computer making this change will be removed from this destination.
    k Undo Changes Click to set the features back to previous settings (same effect as cancel).
    l Save Click to apply changes.
    You must to post a comment.
    Last Modified
    16:43, 10 Jun 2014

    Tags