How can we help?

We think these articles could help:

    See More
    Home > CrashPlan > Latest > Getting Started > 09: Restore Your First File

    09: Restore Your First File

    Applies to:
    • CrashPlan for Home

    Overview

    You can view all of the files you currently have backed up from the Restore tab of the CrashPlan app. You can start restoring files as soon as they back up – no need to wait for your entire backup to complete! Let's take a look at what you've already backed up and your restore options. Then, let's restore some files! 

    Get To Know Your Restore Options

    The Restore tab has three basic parts, each described below:

    • Options for file source and backup destination
    • Expandable list of files and file search
    • Restore preferences

    Restore Files

    Options For File Source & Backup Destination

    If you are backing up multiple computers, you can pick the one you want to restore. Similarly, if you are backing up to multiple destinations, you can pick the destination you want to restore from. These options display at the top of the tab:

    Restore Source and Destination

    If you are only backing up one computer, or backing up to only one destination, then your source and destination are pre-selected for you.

    Faster Restores
    If you are backing up to a local destination, like an external hard drive attached to your computer, it is faster to restore from the local destination than from an offsite destination like CrashPlan Central.

    Expandable List Of Files & Files Search

    The expandable list of files in the middle of the Restore tab displays all of the files you have already backed up. You can restore whole folders or individual files by selecting the corresponding checkboxes in this file list. 

    To browse your files:
    • Click the arrow File:CrashPlan/Latest/Getting_Started/09_Restore_Your_First_File/arrow.png next to a folder to expand or collapse the contents of that folder  
    • Click the arrow File:CrashPlan/Latest/Getting_Started/09_Restore_Your_First_File/arrow.png next a file to expand or collapse all versions of that file
    • Select Show deleted files to view files included in your backup selection that you have deleted from your computer
    • Select Show hidden files to view files that your operating system doesn't display by default (if you don't know what a hidden file is, or can't image why you'd want to restore one, skip this one)

    Expandable list of files

    Restoring Files From Disconnected External Drives
    If you back up the contents of an external drive, you can disconnect the drive at any time. CrashPlan will report the drive as “missing”; however, under the default settings, “missing” and “deleted” files are never removed from your backup archive. You can simply select Show deleted files to view and restore your external drive's files while it is disconnected.

     

    If you are looking for a specific file, you can enter a portion of the file name in the search field. You can also search for a particular file extension (for example, JPEG). 

    Restore Search

    In the example above, the version File:CrashPlan/Latest/Getting_Started/09_Restore_Your_First_File/version.png icon shows there are three versions of the Psych Fall Midterm document available for restore.

    Restore Preferences

    CrashPlan suggests default settings for restoring your files, including the version, permissions, and location of restored files, as well has how to handle file name conflicts. You can click the links in this restore description to see your options and change the selection. 

    File:CrashPlan/Latest/Getting_Started/09_Restore_Your_First_File/restore-description.png

    Restore A File

    Now that you understand each part of this screen, restoring a file is easy! 

    1. Select the computer you want to restore files for (if applicable)
    2. Select the backup destination you want to restore from (if applicable)
    3. Select the file or files you want to restore
    4. Choose your restore preferences (e.g., version, location, etc.)
    5. Click Restore

    It's that simple!

    Restore Tips
    • It is safe to close the CrashPlan app while the files restore in the background.
    • If you are restoring a large amount of files, consider optimizing your computer settings to prevent disruptions.
    • Alternatively, if you don't want to restore all of the files at once, you can shut down or put your computer to sleep and the restore will resume where it left off when it is powered on again.
    • If you receive errors when restoring, refer to our troubleshooting guide.

    What's Next?

    Restoring from the CrashPlan app is just one option for restoring files backed up to CrashPlan Central. Click Next below to learn about accessing your account and restoring files from the CrashPlan web app. 

    You must to post a comment.
    Last Modified
    07:33, 10 Apr 2014

    Page Rating

    Was this article helpful?

    Tags