Adopting another computer is the process of having one computer take over for another computer that has been lost, stolen, sold, or reformatted. This process also applies when rebuilding your computer following a crash. By reconnecting to the previous computer's backup archive, you avoid repeating the potentially lengthy, initial backup.
When replacing a computer, we recommend setting the new computer up with the same user name that you used on your previous computer. If your user name changes, CrashPlan will detect that the file paths for the files in your backup archive also changed. As a result, CrashPlan will back up these changes once the archive is adopted. Even though CrashPlan doesn't back up the files themselves again, backing up the revised file paths can be a lengthy process, especially if you have a large number of files in your archive.
Different Operating Systems
If you are moving to a new operating system (e.g. Mac to Windows), then at this point you should proceed to Step 4 of our instructions for Adopting A Computer With A Different Operating System.
If you are using CrashPlan's upgraded security with a custom key (448-bit encryption with custom 448-bit key), you will be prompted to enter your custom key after adopting your previous computer. Entering an incorrect key in the CrashPlan app erases your backup archive. For this reason, we strongly recommend testing your custom key before proceeding.
Once adoption is complete, check your backup file selection to see if you need to add any additional folders. When changing your backup file selection, you should:
You should only deselect files that you want permanently removed from your backup archive.
If you have moved files to new folders, and you want to remove the old file paths from your backup file selection, you should do so only after allowing CrashPlan to update the location information for these files. This process is called de-duplication and you must follow the steps below exactly to ensure you don't accidentally remove the files from your backup archive before CrashPlan has a chance to update the location information.
If you are not concerned with maintaining historical versions, and you want to remove old file and folder paths, you must follow these steps in the sequence presented:
Note: When you change the backup file selection, a scan launches to compare the contents of your backup file selection against your existing backup archive. While on the surface it may look like CrashPlan is starting your backup over, this is a normal part of CrashPlan's operation. There are several ways to confirm that your backup isn't starting over.
Want to learn even more about Adoption? Check out this video by Customer Champion Xander B. to learn what's happening behind the scenes.