Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Unable To Remove Backup Set

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PRO
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

When you first start backing up, CrashPlan uses a single default backup set. The default set can be renamed, but cannot be removed. If you would like to stop backing up the files selected in the default set, you must move the selected files you want to keep to the default set.

Considerations

  • The default backup set can never be deleted.
  • If you have renamed the default backup set, select that set where this example refers to the default backup set.
Removing Backup Sets
Perform the steps below in sequence to ensure that your data is retained at the destination. You can remove previously backed up files by performing these steps incorrectly. If you are unsure about removing backup sets, contact our Customer Champions​ for Code42 for Enterprise support or CrashPlan PRO support.

Consolidating Backup Sets

In this example, you have two backup sets, Default and Set 2.  You want to keep the data contained in Set 2 and stop backing up the files in Default. In order to do this, modify the default set, then remove the additional set. 

Step 1: Modifying The Default Set

Begin by updating the default set. Add the files selected in Set 2 to the Default set, ensuring that the data you want to keep is located within both backup sets. Completing these steps allows data de-duplication to move the files from Set 2 into the Default set.

  1. Open the CrashPlan app
  2. Go to Settings > Backup
  3. Select the Default set
  4. Select the files and locations you want to back up, including files and locations contained in Set 2
  5. (Optional) Deselect the files and locations you no longer want to back up
  6. Click Ok in the file selection menu
  7. Click Save
  8. Go to Backup 
  9. Wait until the set shows "Backup complete!"

Step 2: Removing Set 2

The Default set now contains the same data that is selected in Set 2 and registers as complete. If you do not perform Step 1 first, data in Set 2 will be permanently lost.

Follow these steps to remove Set 2:

  1. Go to Settings > Backup
  2. Select Set 2
  3. Click Remove
  4. Select I understand data will be erased from backup
    Because your files and locations are also selected and completely backed up in the Default set, you will not erase data
  5. Click Ok to remove Set 2
  6. Click Save
  7. Go to Backup 
  8. Verify the set shows "Backup complete!"