Skip to main content
Code42 Support

How File Decryption Works During Restores

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PRO
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

Before your files can be restored, they have to be decrypted with your key. The method for decrypting your files and accessing your key depends on how you restore your files, as well as your security settings. This article describes the different options for restoring and decrypting files.

We recommend familiarizing yourself with CrashPlan's Archive Encryption Key Security options before reading this article.

Definitions

CrashPlan server
For the purposes of this article, refers to the servers for the CrashPlan product that you are using:
  • CrashPlan for Home or CrashPlan PRO: A server owned and maintained by Code42
  • Code42 for Enterprise: A Code42 server, or a server owned and maintained by your organization, depending on the configuration of your enterprise's Code42 environment

File decryption

When and where your backed up files are decrypted varies based on which restore method you choose. Refer to the table below for details.

State of files stored at backup destination Method of file transmission How are files transmitted? Where are files decrypted?
CrashPlan app Encrypted Internet, local network or direct connection 1 Communication channel secured with 128-bit AES encryption Your computer
CrashPlan mobile app Encrypted Internet Communication channel secured with 128-bit AES encryption Your device
CrashPlan web app Encrypted Internet

SSL
(CrashPlan for Home and CrashPlan PRO)

SSL or HTTP 2
(Code42 for Enterprise)

CrashPlan servers

1 Note: If you restore from a local backup destination, like an external hard drive, then files are not transmitted over a network. If you restore from another computer on your network, files are transmitted over your local network. If you restore from a remote friend's computer or from CrashPlan Central, files are transmitted over the Internet.

2 Note: Your Code42 for Enterprise administrator can configure your Code42 environment to use SSL or HTTP.

Restoring files from the CrashPlan web app
If you restore from the CrashPlan web app, your files are decrypted on CrashPlan's servers. If you don't want your decrypted files stored on CrashPlan's servers, choose one of the other restore methods: from the CrashPlan app, CrashPlan mobile app, or from a friend's computer.

Remove your decrypted files from the CrashPlan server

(CrashPlan for Home only)

When you use the CrashPlan web app to perform a web restore, your files are decrypted on CrashPlan's servers before being sent to your web browser. By default, the decrypted files are stored for 24 hours. However, you can opt to remove these files before their expiration period from the CrashPlan web app using the steps below:

  1. Restore your files using the CrashPlan web app
  2. Download the zip file containing your restored files
  3. Click the red X next to your restored files to remove the decrypted files

Web Restore Delete