Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Restoring After An Adoption

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PRO
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

If you instructed the CrashPlan app to adopt a previous computer identity prior to restoring the files from that previous computer, follow the step-by-step instructions in this article to ensure your files aren't lost.

Under the hood

When you adopt a previous computer's identity, all of the CrashPlan app's settings from that computer are applied to the new computer - including your backup file selection.

For example, assume you selected the folder C:\Users\John as your backup file selection on the previous computer:

  • When you adopt that computer's identity on a new computer, the CrashPlan app scans the folder C:\Users\John.
  • Since the files weren't restored prior to adoption, the CrashPlan app doesn't find the files and so they are marked as "deleted."
  • At this point, if you look on the Restore tab of the CrashPlan app, most or all of your files are unavailable for restore. Additionally, the backup file selection window on the Backup tab most likely lists most of the files as "Missing".

Recommended solution

Step 1: Optimize your file retention settings

Begin by optimizing your deleted file retention settings.

File Retention

Verify that your remove deleted files selection is set to never to ensure that none of the "missing" files are removed from your archive before they can be restored.

Warning!
Even if the file paths for your files have changed on your new computer, do not deselect any file or folder paths from your old computer at this time. Deselecting files and folders permanently removes files from your backup archive. Instead, restore your files using the instructions below, then follow the instructions for adding files to your backup file selection and deselecting folders and files.

Step 2: Restore your files

We recommend restoring the files as of a date prior to the adoption. Alternatively, you can restore all deleted files.

Option 1: Restore from a date prior to adoption

CrashPlan allows you to restore a "snapshot" of your file selections from a time before the CrashPlan app identified them as deleted.

  1. Open the CrashPlan app
  2. Click Restore
  3. From the backup destination list, choose the destination from which you want to restore
    Restore
  4. Click Most Recent to open the date and time selection window
    The setting is located near the bottom of the Restore tab
  5. Select a date and time prior to replacing your computer or drive
    Restore Date
  6. Select the files to be restored
  7. Click Restore

Important! Proceed to Step 3 to verify your backup file selection.

Option 2: Restore all deleted files

Choose this option if you do not remember the last date that you had a file, or did not restore using the above method.

  1. Click Restore.
  2. Select Show Deleted Files in the bottom right.
    This makes your "deleted" files available for restore. Deleted files display a dimmed color.

Restore Deleted Files

  1. Select the files to be restored.
  2. Click Restore.

Important! Proceed to Step 3 to verify your backup file selection.

Step 3: Add folders to backup file selection

Once your files are restored, you should verify the backup file selection on your new computer and add folders from your new computer to your backup file selection that need to be backed up.

In version 4.5 and later of the CrashPlan app, the default backup file selection is added to your backup file selection automatically after adopting a computer. You should verify that this update includes the folders you want backed up on your new computer.

Verifying your backup selection is important because:

  • You adopted the settings, including backup file selection, from your previous computer. However, the folder locations on your new computer may be different.
  • Your computer user name may have changed, which increases the likelihood that files are now stored in different folders.
  • You may have restored files to locations that differ from their location on your previous computer.

Add any additional folders to your backup file selection now. For example, you may need to add the user folder on your new computer to your backup file selection. For more information, see our guidelines on choosing what to back up.

If you wish to remove folders or files, read the considerations in the step below first.

Step 4: Deselect files and folders (optional)

Use caution when changing your file selection
  • Always wait for backup progress to complete before deselecting files. The time needed to back up depends on data de-duplication and the size of your backup selection.
  • You should only deselect files that you want CrashPlan to permanently and immediately delete from your backup archive.
  • There is no way to recover deselected files.
  • You will lose any historical versions associated with the deselected folders and files. Even if the file verification scan has updated the new location information for your files, any versions associated with the old deselected location will be lost.

When backup progress completes, you may choose to clean up your file selection by removing the old "missing" locations of your files.

If you are not concerned with maintaining historical versions, and you want to clean up your file selection by removing the old file and folder paths, you must follow these steps exactly in the sequence presented:

  1. Verify that the new location for the files is included in your backup file selection.
  2. Keep the original file location selected. Do not deselect any files at this time.
  3. Allow your backup status to reach 100% complete.
  4. It is now safe to deselect the old files and folders. You can restore these files from their new location on your new computer.

When you change the backup file selection, a scan launches to compare the contents of your backup file selection against your existing backup archive. While on the surface it may look like CrashPlan is starting your backup over, this is a normal part of CrashPlan's operation. There are several ways to confirm that your backup isn't starting over.