- CrashPlan for Home
- CrashPlan PRO
- CrashPlan PROe
This article explains how to uninstall the CrashPlan app from your computer.
Uninstalling the CrashPlan app also removes the log files associated with your backups on this computer. The CrashPlan logs provide valuable information when troubleshooting your backups, and may be requested by our Customer Champion team if you contact us for help. Before uninstalling the CrashPlan app, please be sure that you will not need the log files, or back up your log files before uninstalling.
There are two different methods for uninstalling CrashPlan: standard and complete.
- In a standard uninstall, CrashPlan retains a small amount of information (including your computer's ID or GUID) so CrashPlan can “remember” your computer if you reinstall CrashPlan in the future. This information is stored in the hidden .identity file.
- In a complete uninstall, the computer's identity information is also removed. Generally, you only want to completely uninstall CrashPlan and remove the identity if:
- You are switching from one CrashPlan app to another (i.e. CrashPlan for Home to CrashPlan PRO)
- A Customer Champion instructs you to do so
- The computer is no longer backing up with a CrashPlan app
Identity File Considerations
- The .identity file is hidden for all operating systems. You may need to edit folder options to be able to view this file.
- You may be asked to provide administrator credentials for your computer in order to delete the .identity file
To uninstall the CrashPlan app:
|Operating System||Standard Uninstall||Complete Uninstall|
You may be prompted that another user on the device is signed in. If another user is signed in, it may prevent the CrashPlan app from uninstalling completely. Code42 recommends coordinating with other users to ensure all users are signed out of the account before continuing.
If the uninstallation fails, follow Microsoft's instructions to fix problems that block programs from being installed or removed.
|Mac OS X||