Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Moving And Renaming Files In Your Backup Selection

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PRO
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

You can move and rename files and folders on your computer that are already backed up. If you are moving or renaming files within your existing backup file selection, CrashPlan’s data de-duplication feature detects the change automatically. If you move files to a location outside of your backup file selection, then you must update your file selection.

This tutorial contains step-by-step instructions for moving and renaming files backed up by CrashPlan.

How It Works

There are three considerations to be aware of when re-organizing files backed up by CrashPlan.

Moving And Renaming Files Within Your File Selection

As long as files and folders remain within your backup file selection, you can feel free to move and rename them as needed. When you move or rename files within your backup file selection, CrashPlan:

  1. Initially marks the files as "new"
  2. Analyzes the blocks of data contained in the file and recognizes that the data is already backed up
  3. Only backs up the part of the file that changed (e.g., the location or name)

Example

In the example below, the marvin folder is chosen as the backup file selection. CrashPlan can detect any changes that occur within marvin's subfolders (Downloads, Desktop, Documents, etc.) For example, you could move the four vacation photos currently on the Desktop to the Pictures folder and confidently know that CrashPlan will continue backing up the files.

The same holds true for any files or folders that you rename. As long as the renamed file or folder remains within your backup file selection, CrashPlan will recognize the file. The only exception is renaming the top-level folders.

Rename or move files within backup file selection

Moving Files To A Folder Outside Your File Selection

If you move backed up files to a folder that is not part of your backup file selection, such as a new external hard drive, you must update your file selection to include the new location. Then, let CrashPlan de-duplicate the files in the new folder with the files you previously backed up to avoid backing up the files again. 

Steps

  1. Copy the files to the new location.
  2. Open the CrashPlan app.
  3. Click Change.
  4. Select the folder or files for the new location but do not deselect the original location.
  5. Click Save.
    A scan launches that looks like it is backing up the files again. However, de-duplication recognizes that the files match and does not upload the files again. Instead, CrashPlan just updates the file paths.

  6. (Optional) Once the backup completes, deselect the files from the original location. 

Version History
Historical versions of files are only retained if you leave the original location included in the file selection. If you wish to keep historical versions, do not deselect the original location.
  1. Delete the files from the old location on your computer.

Renaming Top-Level Folders

If you want to rename a top-level folder included in your backup file selection (i.e., a folder that displays on the Backup tab), you must update your file selection to add the folder using its new name.

Steps

For example, assume you have a drive named "External" included in your backup file selection that you want to rename "Music." To do this, you would:

  1. Rename the drive
  2. Open the CrashPlan app
  3. Click Change
  4. Add the relabeled folder, Music, to your selection
Important
Leave the original location selected as well. In this example, that means leaving "External" in the backup file selection.

Rename drive

  1. Click Save
    A scan launches that looks like it is backing up the folder again. In fact, this scan allows CrashPlan to analyze and de-duplicate the files with what is already backed up.
  2. (Optional) Once the backup completes, deselect the original folder name.
Version History
Historical versions of files are only retained if you leave the original location included in the file selection. If you wish to keep historical versions, do not deselect the original location. The location may display as "missing" in the CrashPlan app, but you can restore files from it using the Show Deleted files option.