Skip to main content
Code42 Support

Deactivating & Reactivating Users & Devices

Applies to:
  • CrashPlan PROe

Overview

This article describes the proper steps to deactivate users and devices, reactivate user accounts and any associated devices, and reinstate user backup data.

Definitions

The terms below are used throughout this article.

cold storage

Temporary holding state for archives after they are deactivated, but before they expire and are permanently deleted. This is analogous to the period when a deleted file remains in the Recycle Bin or the Trash. Users who have backup archives in cold storage consume a user license. Administrators can retrieve archives from cold storage for archives backed up to a private cloud or hybrid cloud destination.

deactivate

Applies to devices, users, orgs, and plans. Deactivation stops backup and causes associated archives to be placed into cold storage and eventually deleted. Licenses are not immediately freed by deactivation.

Considerations

When an end user leaves a company or organization, the administrator (or LDAP integration policy) generally deactivates the user's account. Once a user is deactivated, all devices and archives tied to the user's account are also deactivated.

User data that is deactivated is placed into cold storage according the organization's data retention policies. The data retention policy is found at the global settings level under Settings > Organization > Quotas, or at the specific organization level by editing the organization. Once any archive has exceeded the cold storage data retention period, the archive is purged and permanently deleted.

Any data that is within the organization's cold storage retention period can be recovered and accessed by reactivating the user account and the device.

Steps

Users

Deactivate user account

  1. Sign into the administration console.
  2. Navigate to the user account to be deactivated.
  3. From the user detail pane, open the Action Menu.
  4. Click Deactivate.
  5. When prompted, click OK to confirm the user account deactivation.
  • The user account and all devices associated with this user account are deactivated immediately.
  • All backup archives owned by this user account are placed into cold storage.

Activate a deactivated user account

  1. Sign into the administration console.
  2. Navigate to a deactivated user account.
    1. Go to Users.
    2. From the Action Menu, select Show Deactivated to display all deactivated users.
    3. Click the username you'd like to reactivate to display the User Details panel.
  3. From the Action Menu, select Activate.
  • The user account is active. New devices now can be added to this user account.
  • Archives in cold storage can be reattached by reactivating the user's deactivated devices.

Devices

Deactivate device

  1. Sign into the administration console.
  2. Navigate to the individual device to be deactivated.
  3. From the Action Menu, click Deactivate.
  4. When prompted, click OK to confirm the device deactivation.
  • The device is immediately deactivated.
  • The device's associated backup archive(s) are placed into cold storage.

Activate a deactivated device

The user account that owns the deactivated device must be active before you can activate the deactivated device. Once the user account is active, follow these steps to activate the deactivated device:

  1. Sign into the administration console.
  2. Navigate to Devices.
  3. From the Action Menu, click Show Deactivated to display deactivated devices.
  4. Click the device name to display the Device Detail pane.
  5. From the Action Menu, click Activate.

Reattach a backup archive from cold storage

Deactivating a user or device moves the associated backup archive(s) to cold storage. However, as long as the user's backup archive still exists in cold storage, the archive can be reattached to the user's device after both the user and the device are reactivated. Backup archives that have been purged from cold storage cannot be recovered.

Reattaching a backup archive requires a connected CrashPlan app. To reattach and bring the backup archive out of cold storage:

  1. Sign in to the administration console.
  2. Activate the user account that owns the backup archive.
  3. If the user will be using the same device, activate the device associated with the backup archive.
  4. Reattach the backup archive:
    1. Select Devices
    2. Locate and select the user's device.
    3. From the action menu, select Edit.
    4. Select Backup (or Backup Sets, if configured).
    5. From Destinations, select the destination(s) holding the device's backup archive.
    6. Click Save.

At this point, you can restore files from the reattached backup archive.

If the user signs in to the CrashPlan app on the same device that was used before deactivation, backup resumes automatically. If the user signs in from a different device, you must adopt the archive from the device or from the administration console in order to resume backing up to the reattached archive.