How can we help?

We think these articles could help:

    See More
    Home > Administrator Resources > 3.6 & 4.0 > Configuring > Device Backup Overview & Settings

    MindTouch
    Copyright (c) 2006-2014 MindTouch Inc.
    http://mindtouch.com

    This file and accompanying files are licensed under the MindTouch Master Subscription Agreement (MSA).

    At any time, you shall not, directly or indirectly: (i) sublicense, resell, rent, lease, distribute, market, commercialize or otherwise transfer rights or usage to: (a) the Software, (b) any modified version or derivative work of the Software created by you or for you, or (c) MindTouch Open Source (which includes all non-supported versions of MindTouch-developed software), for any purpose including timesharing or service bureau purposes; (ii) remove or alter any copyright, trademark or proprietary notice in the Software; (iii) transfer, use or export the Software in violation of any applicable laws or regulations of any government or governmental agency; (iv) use or run on any of your hardware, or have deployed for use, any production version of MindTouch Open Source; (v) use any of the Support Services, Error corrections, Updates or Upgrades, for the MindTouch Open Source software or for any Server for which Support Services are not then purchased as provided hereunder; or (vi) reverse engineer, decompile or modify any encrypted or encoded portion of the Software.

    A complete copy of the MSA is available at http://www.mindtouch.com/msa

    Device Backup Overview & Settings

    Applies to:
    • CrashPlan PRO
    • CrashPlan PROe

    Overview

    The Backup tab under Settings > Device allows you to control how and when backup operations take place, what files to include and exclude from backup, the frequency of backup and how long versions should be retained. Advanced settings allow you to control backup processes like real-time file watching, data de-duplication, encryption and compression.

    General

    Device Backup Settings, backup sets options

    Item Description
    a Backup Sets Displays Backup Sets sheet in which you can create and configure backup sets.
    b Backup will run Indicates whether backups are always running or running only at specific times
      Always - Backup is always running
     

    Between specified times - Backup will run only at specified times

    c Verify selection every Scan system for file changes and deleted files within your backup selection at the interval and time of day you specify. If the computer is powered off or asleep at the scheduled scan time, the scan will wait until the next scheduled scan time to run.
    d Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
    Available in CrashPlan PROe only.
    e Push Indicates whether or not a change in this setting applies to existing users in addition to new users.

    File Selection

    Device backup settings, file selection options, included and excluded files

    Item Description
    a Include files Add pathnames of directories that should be included in backups of this device.
    b +     Add item to the Included Files list.
    c Included filenames list Pathnames of directories that are included in backups. If the File Selection settings are not locked, users are allowed to add to this list, and to remove selections from this list. Click the X to remove an item from the list.
    d File Exclusion Add pathnames of directories that should be excluded from backups of this device.
    e +     Add item to the Excluded Files list.
    f Exclude filenames list Pathnames of directories that are excluded from backups. If the File Selection settings are not locked, users are allowed to add to this list, and to remove selections from this list. Click the X to remove an item from the list.
    g Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
    Available in CrashPlan PROe only.
    h Push Indicates whether or not a change in this setting applies to existing users in addition to new users.

    Consideration: Keep in mind that excluding previously selected files results in excluded files being deleted from the backup archive. The now-excluded files will not be available for restoring.

    Note: Inclusions are processed first, followed by exclusions. Files that are in both the inclusions and exclusions will be excluded, since the exclusion list is processed last.

    Destinations

    This section allows you to choose which destinations are used by newly added devices immediately upon first signing in. Available in CrashPlan PROe only.

    Destinations

    Click the check box for each destination that you want newly added devices to use.

    Filename Exclusions

    Device Settings, Filename exclusions

    Item Description
    a Platforms Tabs display filename patterns to hide.
    b –     Enter filename pattern to exclude from backup.
    c Regular Expression Enter text in the form of a Regular Expression (regex).
    d +     Adds text in text box to list of filename patterns to exclude.
    e Import  Displays window in which you can paste the contents of a text file with filename patterns / regex items you wish to exclude.
    f Export Displays window in which you can copy the contents of the excluded files list, which you can in turn paste into your favorite text editor for editing.
    g Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
    Available in CrashPlan PROe only.
    h Push Indicates whether or not a change in this setting applies to existing users in addition to new users.

    Frequency And Versions

    Frequence and Versions settings

    Item Description
    a Frequency - Back up new version     Indicates how often CrashPlan PROe backs up and creates new versions of files in your archive.
    b Versions to keep from last week     Indicates which versions to keep from last week (not including today).
    c Versions to keep from last 90 days     Indicates which versions to keep from last 90 days (not including last week).
    d Versions to keep from last year     Indicates which versions to keep from last year (not including the last 90 days).
    e Versions to keep from previous years     Indicates which versions to keep from previous years (not including last year).
    f Remove deleted files after     Period after which deleted files are removed from the archive.
    g Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
    Available in CrashPlan PROe only.
    h Push Indicates whether or not a change in this setting applies to existing users in addition to new users.

    Advanced Settings

    Advanced Settings

    Item Description
    a Data de-duplication Controls data de-duplication rate.
      Automatic - Full de-duplication is used when going over an Internet connection. Minimal is used when going direct to disk or over LAN.
      Full - Every effort is made to identify duplicate data. While being 100% effective, it requires a great deal of CPU power. You're sacrificing CPU and speed to save bandwidth and disk at destination.
      Minimal - Several methods are used to identify duplicate data. While about 90% effective, it requires far less CPU power and will speed up initial backup speed significantly, typically 400% on a single processor system.
    b Compression Controls how CrashPlan service compresses your backup. Compressed backups use less bandwidth and less disk space. Compression does consume some CPU, but not enough to offset overhead due to maxing out your bandwidth or I / O. Because you generally have more CPU available than bandwidth or disk I / O, we do not recommend turning off compression.
      Automatic - Files that do not compress well or are already compressed are not compressed by CrashPlan service.
      On - All files are compressed.
      Off - No files are compressed.
    c Encryption enabled Indicates whether encryption is turned on.
    d Watch file system in real-time Indicates whether CrashPlan service  is constantly monitoring for file changes.
    e Back up open files Indicates whether files that are open (in use) at the time of back up will be backed up.
    f Lock Locks this setting to prevent users from changing it in their personal settings.
    Available in CrashPlan PROe only.
    g Push Indicates whether or not a change in this setting applies to existing users in addition to new users.
    You must to post a comment.
    Last Modified
    17:31, 10 Nov 2014

    Tags

    Classifications

    Administrator Guide